info@santishealth.org or 0203 389 5860

Choosing to undergo a radical prostatectomy is a big decision. Knowing that thousands of other men have placed their trust in the surgeons at Santis - and have been delighted with their results - helps to make that decision a little easier. We’ve collected the thoughts of some of our patients for you here.

Business name:Santis

“We feel very lucky to have been directed to such a great team led by Declan.”

I went for a physical in February 2017 feeling fit and generally well. Received a call soon thereafter saying my PSA was very elevated at 29 and that I should have a retest. Same result. Events unfolded rapidly. Biopsy – confirmed prostate cancer. MRI revealed a questionable area on a bone. Followed up with a PET scan and bone scan, both of which were inconclusive and subject to interpretation. Decision time: radiation/chemo/surgery? I felt like a deer caught in head lights. Scared, world turned upside down and looking for clarity and direction.

Enter Declan Cahill. We immediately connected with Declan. He explained in a calm, glass half full manner what was involved with a radical prostatectomy and that together we would tackle this as a team. As a side note, I am fortunate to have a father in law who was a leading research scientist in the US for some of the largest pharmaceutical companies. He did his due diligence on Declan and reported back that we were very lucky to be in the hands of Declan – someone who was renowned as one of the best radical prostatectomy surgeons. With Declan’s leadership we formed our strategy. While the scans posed some questions on the path to take, through a logical and common sense approach we moved forward with our strategy. First step was to go after the motherload (i.e. remove the prostate), then take stock of where we were, and if required, move on to other treatments.

The radical prostatectomy was performed on the 27th March 2017 at the Royal Marsden. Leading up to the surgery Declan was in constant contact to check how I was doing which provided the reinsurance that I needed. For me, it was Declan’s confidence, positivity and bed-side manner that made a real difference. We feel very lucky to have somehow been directed to such a great team led by Declan. Knowing that I was in the hands of someone with his experience and skill made me feel safe. I realised that someone like Declan is very busy and that there would be a lot of demand for his time, so it was all the more remarkable that he made the time (late in the evenings or on weekends) when he could have been spending it with his own family, to check in on me and provide updates when he knew I would be wondering about test results or simply to check on how I was recovering. Declan – you are an incredibly special man!

Results four months post surgery: 8-week post operation PSA result is 0.01 (I understand that means it is generally undetectable) with the pathology coming back as clear. Continence has been fine and continue to work on the the erection side of the equation (nerves on one side were removed). While we realise that it is still early days, I feel great and can clearly say: thank you for saving my life.

Business name:Santis

“Under PS’s guidance I underwent an extremely successful radical prostatectomy.”

I was introduced to Dr. Prasanna Sooriakumaran, otherwise known as “PS”, in May 2014. At that time my cancer had already spread beyond the prostate and conventional wisdom would have considered it inoperable with my only option being systemic hormone therapy. However, under PS’s guidance I underwent an extremely successful radical prostatectomy in January 2015. This procedure didn’t cure my cancer but things have been kept under control since then despite my initial prognosis being very pessimistic indeed. PS’s care and expertise have been exemplary throughout and he has always kept me informed of progress as well as any new possibilities for treatment.

I consider myself extremely fortunate to have been a part of his team, he has always given excellent advice and made sure that I felt listened to and that any concerns were taken note of. PS has maintained an interest in my health throughout this process, and I hope he will continue to do so for as long as possible!

Business name:Santis
Mr. Colin Ledbury, Santis prostatectomy patient

“I now feel every day is a new experience thanks to Prasanna Sooriakumaran.”

My doctor informed me it was necessary to see a Urological Consultant in 2015. Having considered my position and realising I needed the best possible consultant, I contacted Mr Sooriakumaran via his secretary.

Although I had none of the typical prostate symptoms, Mr. Prasanna Sooriakumaran suspected a problem and immediately arranged a scan and later transperineal biopsies of the prostate. This confirmed his initial cancer concerns despite my PSA being low.
 
Mr. Sooriakumaran carried out a robotic assisted radical prostatectomy in November 2015 due to an aggressive cancer that had already spread beyond the prostate. As the cancer had spread my procedure was a non-nerve sparing operation, a small price to pay to save my life. The expertise of Mr. Sooriakumaran enabled me to return home the very next day and my PSA continues to be undetectable.

I was referred to a urological physiotherapist for exercises to illuminate incontinence, this was successful. As the nerves were removed during the procedure erections were weak; prescription help was available such as ‘Caverject’ and a variety of other drugs.

I had no hesitation in the decision to have the procedure mainly due to the confidence I had in Mr. Sooriakumaran that has been totally justified. I will never be able to thank him enough for saving my life, he is truly an exceptional man.

My life has changed since being diagnosed with prostate cancer, I now feel every day is a new experience thanks to Prasanna Sooriakumaran.

Thank you.

Business name:Santis
Jackdaws Castle 11.4.10 Pic:Edward Whitaker Jonjo O'Neill and Grand National winner Don't Push It

“Radical prostatectomy was the only way for me.”

I was first diagnosed with prostate cancer in 2013 and monitoring for the following three years demonstrated the disease was advancing. I sought and consulted the highly regarded surgeon Declan Cahill who clearly explained the choices of managing and treating.

As I have experienced serious cancer very many years previously, with long spells of chemotherapy, radiation and a consequential inability to remain actively working and enjoying life, I elected to have a radical prostatectomy. I had reservations about the downside, loss of bladder control and undermining intimacy but my priority was survival and longevity in maximum health to continue to be very active in our family business and enjoy family life.

The surgery was successful, my bladder control is with good control, my prostate cancer is behind me and intimacy is adequate.

My lifestyle is busy and very often hectic, involving travelling and long hours so it was very important to me to have a choice which was minimally inconvenient with the maximum chance of a permanent cure. Radical prostatectomy was the only way for me.

It is my opinion that any man facing these choices has to balance the whole picture and no doubt age, work, lifestyle, responsibilities to oneself, one’s family and one’s business associates and clients has to be taken into account.

Thanks to Declan Cahill and his team I am able to look forward to continuing with all of these without the worry of prostate cancer haunting me.

Business name:Santis

“Thanks to you and your team I have the all clear”

Dear Prasanna,

It is 5 months since my RP and I am dry, climbed Mount Snowdon in August and feel great.

So thanks to you and your team I have the all clear!

Many thanks and best wishes,

John Beardwood

Business name:Santis

“His skills, his kindness and his care have meant the world to us.”

My husband, Noel and I are eternally grateful to this wonderful man. His skills, his kindness and his care have meant the world to us. At a time in our lives when we felt vulnerable and scared, he was there for us, offered us hope and then performed a life saving operation. At the time of the surgery he had to make clinical decisions which were of paramount importance. They all proved to be correct and Noel’s PSA test results ever since have been undetectable. What can we say about this remarkable person? Thank you never seems enough. To anyone now considering treatment, go to Mr Eden. We could never recommend him highly enough. To top it all, he’s also just a truly lovely person.

Business name:Santis

“From day one PS put us at ease, making us feel confident that surgery was a good option.”

My first thought when writing this today is that I would like thank Dr Prasanna Sooriakumaran for his kindness during an extremely difficult time, he always had time for us and explained everything in ways we could understand. He was always courteous and considerate and had time for our questions, and if he was not available when my husband rang he always returned our calls at his earliest opportunity.

In May this year my husband Stephen was diagnosed with prostate cancer, and tests revealed this had already spread beyond his prostate, into his bones and lymph nodes. We were advised he would have been considered inoperable under the usual NHS treatment. However, he was put forward for a trial, and went to see Dr Prasanna Sooriakumaran to see if Steve was a suitable candidate. From day one PS put us at ease making us feel confident that surgery was a good option. He was sure that the surgery would be successful and he started the ball rolling immediately.

On June 22 2017, Steve had his surgery, a Robotic Assisted Prostatectomy performed by PS and his team – and thankfully, this was a complete success. I waited in the family room for 5 hours while the surgery was taking place, and PS ensured I was informed as soon as it was over.

PS visited us on the ward, and explained in detail what had happened and what we should expect in the coming weeks – everything has gone to plan so far and although we know we still have fight against the cancer in his bones, we feel safer knowing the prostate has been removed.

Once again, thank you.

Business name:Santis

“Both before and after the operation Prof. Eden with his team of nursing and secretarial staff provided me with the best possible care.”

In 2010 at the age of 75, Professor Eden removed my prostate. Today 6 years later my PSA is unreadable. Both before and after the operation Prof. Eden with his team of nursing and secretarial staff provided me with the best possible care. I have never regretted the decision to have my prostate removed.

Business name:Santis
The Prostate Clinic Radical Prostatectomy Patient James Huxley

“I feel extremely lucky to have been under the care of this remarkable man and I will always be thankful to him.”

I was diagnosed with T2, Gleason 7 prostate cancer in January 2014 at the age of 44. I found the myriad of information that comes in the aftermath of such a diagnosis to be confusing at times and I was naturally keen to identify my best option for life longevity. I began researching extensively and deliberating my options. I clearly wanted to make the right choice. If only I knew then, what I know now! From my initial consultation, I knew I was in truly great hands… Professor Eden and his colleagues exude exceptional skill, precision, sensibility, professionalism and empathy. The cancer had engulfed the prostate in its entirety and Professor Eden utilised his unique skill and extensive experience to conduct nerve-preserving surgery with precautionary, partial removal of the surrounding lymph nodes. Two years on, my PSA remains undetectable at a consistent < 0.03. I have been very pleasantly surprised by my erectile function post-surgery. I was worried about the effect such a radical procedure would have on this aspect of my physiology. But I'm delighted to say there was really nothing to worry about - it is excellent. I could not be more certain that I made the right choice to opt for laparoscopic prostatectomy under Chris Eden as by far the best treatment option for my case. I feel extremely lucky to have been under the care of this remarkable man and I will always be thankful to him.

Business name:Santis

“PS throughout has been extremely professional and caring”

I was diagnosed with prostate cancer in March 2017 and after a further biopsy, MRI and bone scans was recommended to have my prostate removed. After researching surgeons on the internet I arranged to meet Mr. Prasanna Sooriakumaran (PS) on 26th July 2017.

The meeting with him was hugely encouraging, given his experience and his confidence that a successful outcome to surgery could be achieved I decided to go ahead. Eight days later I underwent surgery. PS and his team were extremely supportive throughout this process and everything was explained fully to me. I returned home to recover, PS rang to give me my histology results which were very good. The catheter was removed a few weeks later and since that time I have experienced very little leakage.

PS throughout has been extremely professional and caring, his stated aim is to remove the cancer and preserve your continence and potency. I cannot recommend him highly enough and thank him for all his work.

Business name:Santis
The Prostate Clinic Radical Prostatectomy Patient James Goodbourn

“I am extremely grateful for his skills and professionalism. There is no doubt that I would not be here without him.”

Professor Eden performed a Prostatectomy on me in January 2010. The pre-surgery biopsy had suggested a low grade cancer. Unfortunately the post-surgery biopsy revealed a T3 prostate tumour which had also spread to the margins of the bladder and also the seminal vesicles. The Professor recommended adjuvant radiotherapy which I completed in July 2010 under the supervision of Dr. Money-Kyrle (a specialist recommended by Professor Eden).

It is now over 6 years since surgery and also my radiotherapy and my PSA remains unrecordable. My outlook which was initially challenging is now very good indeed. As far as I am concerned, I am cured. Of particular note, I was closely supervised throughout the last 5/6 years by the Professor who always gave excellent and reassuring advice and was always there to answer my concerns and questions. Despite both the surgery and also radiotherapy, my physical functions in all areas are very reassuringly normal.

In sum, I am in debt to Professor Eden and I am extremely grateful for his skills and professionalism. There is no doubt that I would not be here without him. For those of you who have a less than ideal post surgery biopsy result, do not give up. Be reassured under Professor Eden’s care and above all stay positive.

Business name:Santis

“This is an incredible achievement and I am eternally grateful to you for curing him of prostate cancer.”

Dear Prasanna,

Thank you so much for the advice and the surgery that you have given to my father, George Michael. This is an incredible achievement and I am eternally grateful to you for curing him of prostate cancer. The career path you have chosen is completely selfless and a miracle for people who need you, like my father.

Kind regards,

Paul

Business name:Santis
The Prostate Clinic Radical Prostatectomy Patient Jeremy Spencer

“Best wishes to anyone considering asking Professor Eden for help. I can only highly recommend him to you.”

Professor Eden performed a unilateral nerve saving radical prostatectomy on me in July 2010. I had no complications and rehabilitated my functions over the next 12 months or so. Since the operation I have had undetectable PSA readings and Professor Eden discharged me this year after 5 years. I am really grateful to him for saving my life, and also to my GP for picking up the signs during an examination and referring me, as my PSA was within normal limits. I remember meeting Professor Eden for the first time – I was very scared and he was reassuring and confident. I was extremely relieved he agreed to help me. The treatment I received was first class and all the Prostate Clinic team working for Prof. Eden are really kind and professional. Best wishes to anyone considering asking Professor Eden for help. I can only highly recommend him to you.

Business name:Santis

“After the operation I felt I had received outstanding care from Mr PS”

Dear Professor Levi [Chief Executive, University College London Hospital],

Regarding: Mr Prasanna Sooriakumaran

I am writing to let you know and to thank Mr Sooriakumaran, known as PS, for the outstanding care I have received from him since being diagnosed with aggressive prostate cancer 2 years ago.

Two years ago I had a general health check through my work company which found my PSA was 4.2. I was subsequently referred to Oxford where I had a biopsy and was diagnosed with aggressive prostate cancer. This came as a great shock to me as I had suffered no symptoms in the months prior to my health check. Mr PS successfully performed a robotic radical prostatectomy; post operative pathology showing a pT3a prostate with a 2mm positive surgical margin. Mr PS also removed 21 of the local lymph nodes; one of which was positive.

After the operation I felt I had received outstanding care from Mr PS; building up a great trust in him. At every point of my illness I always felt he was willing to do his absolute best to ensure my prostate cancer went into complete remission. To achieve this remission he always considered all options available and had a proactive approach towards my treatment throughout. He has always listened to my ideas and concerns regarding all aspects of my care; personalising this care so we were always both positively moving forward.

I was devastated when I heard he was leaving Oxford to go to your hospital in London and my instant reaction was to ask if I could stay under his supervision. Following the excellent care and advice he has provided, over the last two years, I was more than willing to travel to London for my future appointments. This initially had to be cleared with Oxford and my local GP but much to my relief I was allowed to carry on seeing Mr PS at the University College London Hospital.

My PSA levels, since the operation 2 years ago, have been consistently low (0.01) and my family and I cannot thank Mr PS enough. I feel I have been blessed to have such a brilliant and caring surgeon.

I felt it was only right for me to let you know how highly appreciative I am.

Yours sincerely,

Johnnie Reynolds

Business name:Santis

“Declan’s patient care is simply stunning.”

I am a London based investment banker; in early 2017, aged 59, and after 2 years of observation under my GP, Jonathan Hunt, I was sent for an MRI scan and Biopsy which revealed prostate cancer (PSA 3.9; Gleeson 3/4; T2; – whatever those mean). I was advised by my urologist, David Badenoch, to have either radiotherapy or robotic prostectomy. I elected for the operation because I figured that it gave me optionality; radiotherapy later if there is a return of the disease. Mr Badenoch recommended I see Declan Cahill (described as world class; I did a lot of research which confirms this); Declan is a compassionate intelligent man; he was an excellent judge of how to educate me and explain what it was necessary and important for me to know in a manner which played exactly to my level of intellectual and emotional acuity. He left me confident I/we knew what we were doing and that it was the right thing.

Declan and his team (including the excellent Netty Kinsella) explained in detail everything prior to the operation (to both me and my wife) and left both my wife and I extremely accurately prepared for what would happen in the operation and to follow which minimised anxiety and fear at the procedure and some of the post-operative symptoms and potential complications. Declan was unstinting of his time to ensure psychological preparedness and relaxation (e.g. calling on Sunday evening prior to the operation, chatting immediately before and after (telling me he was very satisfied) and calling my wife to reassure her, whilst I was still waking up – and then getting in touch after my journey home to make sure I had got there OK!). He also responded quickly and thoughtfully to my subsequent, probably irritating, questions.

Declan’s patient care is simply stunning; it transformed an otherwise unwelcome journey. As to the operation aftermath; well in my case it was fine; some pain (especially shoulders for about a week after), blood in urine and overall feelings of mouldiness for a few weeks. Took six weeks or so to get back to the gym and I have had a few bouts of tiredness (from the anaesthetic I think); Declan was insistent that if I tried to do too much too early I would regret it and he was right – ensuring swifter return to normal life. I didn’t have any continence problems (other than a couple of high speed staggers to the lavatory) and erectile function is work in progress; Declan was very assiduous and accurate in his preparing me on what to expect in these areas. I am sure the ease with which I recovered, physically and emotionally, is down in no small part to Declan’s skill.

I hope the disease is now gone; PSA zero at last test – which leads to my parting thought; with Declan, whatever the long term outcome I am totally confident that it will be the best which could have been achieved by anybody.

Business name:Santis
Mr. Mark Smith - Santis Radical Prostatectomy Patient

“I would have no hesitation in recommending Mr Sooriakumaran and the Santis team.”

I was rather foolish but was saved by sheer good luck. My grandfather had treatment for prostate cancer but I had never considered the possibility and only went to have a blood test at my local surgery because I was worried about my cholesterol level. A locum GP simply ticked all the boxes on the form and when the results came back my cholesterol level was fine but I had a PSA level of 5. The GP was pretty casual about it and said that there was probably nothing to worry about. He did a quick digital examination but was not able to feel anything, but fortunately he suggested a retest three months later. That came back with a level of 5.7 and at that point he told me to have an MRI scan and a biopsy.

I was so much in shock that it was only three days later that I remembered that I had a private health insurance policy paid for by my employers. To start with I thought of having my treatment locally in Gloucestershire. I had my biopsy and MRI scan in a local private hospital and when these came back positive I was eager to have a robotic radical prostatectomy as soon as possible. However, the lack of a local private hospital with the necessary equipment led me to look further afield. Very quickly I found the Santis website and within 24 hours I was booked in for an operation at the Princess Grace Hospital. I was most impressed that the surgeon, Prasanna Sooriakumaran, took the trouble to ring me in the evening to talk me through the process, and I enjoyed meeting him for a preoperative assessment where he gave me plenty of time to understand what my options were. I was delighted to learn how many of these operations he has done as the level of experience is clearly of the utmost importance to getting the best possible result.

Not having had an operation since my tonsils came out in childhood, I was moderately apprehensive. This proved to be quite unnecessary. Mr Sooriakumaran and the anaesthetist Dr Sultan, were both very reassuring and I woke up feeling a little groggy but in no pain whatsoever. Mr Sooriakumaran took the trouble to call my wife after the operation to let her know that all had gone well. I chose to spend two nights in hospital, which was not totally necessary but which gave me a chance to learn how to use the catheter and to get used to walking about. A lovely physiotherapist made sure that I was confident on my feet and encouraged me to walk up a short flight of stairs. I enjoyed a very comfortable private room and some delicious food. Before I left I took a shower in the en suite bathroom so I returned home feeling quite civilised.

For the first couple of days I stayed at home and wandered about the house, but by the end of the first week I was walking slowly around the village for half an hour at a time. Giving myself the injections of anti-coagulant was unnerving, but once I had done the first it was much easier. After a week I had a call in the late evening from Mr Sooriakumaran to let me know the marvellous news that the pathology report showed the cancer was contained in the prostate and that my chances of being totally cancer free were very good. One of the best phone conversations of my life.

I returned to the Princess Grace to have the catheter out after a fortnight and had the pleasure of meeting Mata, the specialist nurse. She laughed at the ridiculously large pads I had come with and gave me a large cup of tea. To my absolute amazement not only was I able to pee quite normally but I was also able to control my bladder with no problem at all. I had anticipated months of incontinence, but I have been able to sit through two hour theatre performances with no difficulty whatsoever and am completely dry both night and day. I still do my pelvic floor exercises to be on the safe side.

The nerves on one side of the prostate had to go due to the cancer but on the other side they were spared. Even at four weeks I am capable of a semi erection without the use of drugs and I am hopeful that in time this will improve. If I need some extra help with a few pills that really won’t be a problem.

I would have no hesitation in recommending Mr Sooriakumaran and the Santis team. The operation could not have gone any better, and the tiny scars left after four weeks show how well my body has healed. The pre-care and aftercare have been superb and have always made me feel that my well-being was at the heart of everything.

Business name:Santis

“If Carlsberg made surgeons Declan would be the only one for me!”

After 2 biopsies during the second half of 2016, it was confirmed on December 23rd that I had prostate cancer. Not ideal timing for Christmas, but the holiday period that followed allowed me time to research my condition and to understand the 3 options that I had been given for treatment. I met with a number of Consultants during the early weeks of January and in the end I opted for radical prostatectomy over brachytherapy mainly as I felt that this treatment would give me a better piece of mind with the prostate being removed entirely.

Once this decision was made, I met up with 2 consultants who specialised in radical prostatectomy and from the outset it was clear to both myself and my wife that Declan Cahill was the man for the job. Declan puts you at ease from the minute you meet him with his straightforward, matter-of-fact style. He explains the treatment in detail and clearly points out the positive and negative impacts of the procedure in a way that is easy to understand. On the evening before my operation, Declan called to make sure I was OK with what was to follow the next day and he also came to meet me just prior to the operation and explained once again what I should expect.

The operation was fairly straight forward and I remained at The Royal Marsden for 2 days, looked after by their wonderful staff and I even managed a quick walk across the road to the pub for a nice glass of red wine! Since the operation, Declan has been in touch on numerous occasions and he is always available for advice at any time no matter the subject.

My recovery has been rapid and painless. I was dry from day one after having the catheter removed, back at work within 3 weeks and 8 weeks after the operation I walked 126 miles on the Scottish West Highland Way – including climbing up Ben Nevis on the final day. 10 weeks after my operation, my PSA levels are now undetectable and whilst Declan wants to keep me under his care for the coming 12 months, I feel fantastic and have no regrets about the route I took for my treatment or indeed trusting such a wonderful man as Declan Cahill.

Thank you Declan for all you have done for me and my family – I will always be grateful to you and your team.

Business name:Santis

“Thank you for the honest, considerate and courteous way in which you treated me”

Firstly, I would like to thank Prasanna Sooriakumaran and his theatre team for conducting my robotic-assisted radical prostatectomy in early June 2014 which resulted in a successful outcome for me and to thank him personally for the honest, considerate and courteous way in which he has treated me during the consultations.

My wife would also like to thank you for phoning her straight after the operation. She really appreciated the honest and detailed conversation which she felt answered all her questions and put her mind at rest at the end of a very difficult day for her.

Our thanks once again.

Business name:Santis

“The best advice I received was to ensure that the procedure was carried out by the most experienced surgeon I could find.”

When I learned I had prostate cancer I spent considerable time in researching the alternatives and soon realised that if I was to be cancer free I needed a radical prostatectomy. The best advice I received was to ensure that the procedure was carried out by the most experienced surgeon I could find. In the U.K. Christopher Eden was by far the urologist with the highest surgical volume – some 2000 laparoscopic radical prostatectomies. I contacted some of his peers and asked what they thought of his skills – the word “brilliant” came up more than once. I knew I would be in excellent hands. He carried out the procedure in March 2013 and I am delighted to say that my life returned to normal very rapidly and after 3 years my PSA level is undetectable. I owe a lot to Christopher Eden and commend him highly to anyone else who has been diagnosed with prostate cancer.

Business name:Santis

“I cannot recommend Professor Eden, his medical team and the nursing staff highly enough.”

Professor Eden removed my prostate in August 2008, with Dr Anne Haigh his anaesthetist.

Diagnosed with prostate cancer some two/three years earlier, I had decided upon a ‘watchful waiting’ approach with regular PSA tests and periodic biopsies, the last of which, immediately before my operation, revealed a worsening in my situation.

Following discussions with my consultant and my own independent research, I concluded that a laparoscopic removal of my prostate could offer the best chance of a positive outcome in relation to healing and concerns over the post op risks of incontinence and lack of erections. It also became clear that Professor Eden was the most skilled and experienced UK surgeon to perform such an operation with an excellent record of success.

As for my experience, this can only be described as positive in every respect.

Professor Eden is clearly a very skilled surgeon, caring and insightful. He is able to immediately relax the patient with trust between surgeon and patient established from the very outset.

My stay was some four or five days in length (I cannot remember precisely). The accommodation, and the care I received from Professor Eden, his Operating Team and nursing staff was second to none. The catering was also excellent.

The operation itself was a success and healing was relatively rapid with minimal discomfort. After the operation I was handed a photo-image of the removed prostate, which showed the incidence of cancer in two separate areas. Very interesting.

From day one, following my operation, I experienced no incontinence whatsoever. Erections returned, albeit ‘ejaculation’ is dry (something that one is warned about beforehand). That apart, the feeling is the same. In summary, any compromising of ‘lifestyle’ has been minimal.

For the following five years I saw Professor Eden at least twice a year, (it might have been quarterly in the first year) to check on my well being and to review regular PSA blood tests, the readings for which have consistently been considerably less than ‘1’. After five years I was discharged into the care of my GP, since which time PSA readings have remained at the aforementioned minimal levels.

In conclusion, I cannot recommend Professor Eden, his medical team and the nursing staff highly enough. This was a difficult time for me and my family. That said, I have nothing but the highest of praise for the excellent treatment that I received throughout that period. By way of thanks I make an annual donation to The Prostate Clinic charity.

Business name:Santis

“I have always counted myself extremely lucky to have found Christopher Eden.”

I have always counted myself extremely lucky to have found Christopher Eden, thanks to the help and guidance given by PCaSO. Christopher Eden is always so knowledgeable and reassuring and my operation in January 2005 was so easy for me, leaving me potent and continent. I can not speak highly enough of Christopher Eden as a surgeon. I find his commitment to his patients quite outstanding and will always count myself very lucky to have found him.

Business name:Santis
The Prostate Clinic Radical Prostatectomy Patient Ashley Shepherd

“Because he saved my nerve bundle on the one side, after 12 months my erections returned.”

Christopher Eden removed my prostate in 2010 when I was 48 & my PSA is still unrecordable! I did my exercises as advised & didn’t have any incontinence and because he saved my nerve bundle on the one side, after 12 months my erections returned. When I think of the alternative options I was exploring 5 years ago, I can’t thank Professor Eden enough for his skill and manner in which he took control of the situation. Having prostate cancer changed my life and thanks to Christopher Eden I left corporate life, moved to Cornwall and I am now living the dream! Thank you.

Business name:Santis

“I simply cannot speak too highly of Declan.”

Almost exactly one year ago I underwent a radical prostatectomy carried out by the skilled hands of the talented Declan Cahill. Surgery followed an eight-week roller coaster ride from first diagnosis, through meeting Declan, MRI scan, bone scan, biopsy, CAT scan and then the operation itself. As I was entirely symptom free, and a mildly raised PSA was picked up on a routine annual medical, all this came as a terrible shock.

I simply cannot speak too highly of Declan. He is obviously a very skilful surgeon – a master of his craft – but he is much more than that. He was immensely reassuring, direct without being brutal, efficient without being short, clear without being patronising, amusing without being flippant, and always with time to listen to my wife and myself and offer extremely well judged accessible advice as to next steps and consequences. We debated different approaches but quickly settled on surgery as being the only sensible way forward. Of course, reaching this decision was not in haste but it was at speed – and my wife (who shares my unstinting admiration for Declan and for his execution of the surgical route he advocated) and I would never have been able to come to such a clear sighted and focussed decision with such comparative calm were it not for Declan’s stewardship of this medical experience.

The surgery itself was very successful. The aftermath was extraordinary. I don’t particularly recommend wearing a catheter as an experience to be repeated, but apart from that recovery – which a year on still continues in the continuing return of full function – was incredible. Nine weeks to the day after the operation I stood at the top of the Cho La pass in the Nepali Himalayas to which I had trekked en route to Everest.

A year on, my PSA level is undetectable. My wife and I owe Declan and his team a significant and unrepayable debt. He is a remarkable clinician, surgeon and man. You could not be in better hands. Thank you.

Business name:Santis
The Prostate Clinic Radical Prostatectomy Patient Vernon Burford

“An extraordinary result from a very remarkable man.”

There have been some remarkable achievements in treatments for prostate problems. In particular I personally owe my life to Professor Christopher Eden – he treated my very serious prostate cancer condition by removing the prostate whilst managing to spare the nerves on one side. He also harvested a large sample of lymph nodes, many of which were suspect. After three and a half years my PSA level remains undetectable. An extraordinary result from a very remarkable man.

Business name:Santis

“He is the consummate professional.”

Prof. Eden and his team provide the very best care available anywhere in the world – he is the consummate professional and a very nice guy to whom I owe my life – 100% top class!

Prostate Cancer Information Centre

The Prostate Cancer Information Centre is an online resource created by experts to help you understand prostate cancer better, with articles, videos and advice published several times a week.

Visit the Prostate Cancer Information Centre

Subscribe to our newsletter to receive the latest articles direct to your inbox.