info@santishealth.org or 0203 389 5860

Choosing to undergo a radical prostatectomy is a big decision. Knowing that thousands of other men have placed their trust in the surgeons at Santis - and have been delighted with their results - helps to make that decision a little easier. We’ve collected the thoughts of some of our patients for you here.

Business name:Santis

“This is an incredible achievement and I am eternally grateful to you for curing him of prostate cancer.”

Dear Prasanna,

Thank you so much for the advice and the surgery that you have given to my father, George Michael. This is an incredible achievement and I am eternally grateful to you for curing him of prostate cancer. The career path you have chosen is completely selfless and a miracle for people who need you, like my father.

Kind regards,

Paul

Business name:Santis

“Thank you for the honest, considerate and courteous way in which you treated me”

Firstly, I would like to thank Prasanna Sooriakumaran and his theatre team for conducting my robotic-assisted radical prostatectomy in early June 2014 which resulted in a successful outcome for me and to thank him personally for the honest, considerate and courteous way in which he has treated me during the consultations.

My wife would also like to thank you for phoning her straight after the operation. She really appreciated the honest and detailed conversation which she felt answered all her questions and put her mind at rest at the end of a very difficult day for her.

Our thanks once again.

Business name:Santis
Mr. Colin Ledbury, Santis prostatectomy patient

“I now feel every day is a new experience thanks to Prasanna Sooriakumaran.”

My doctor informed me it was necessary to see a Urological Consultant in 2015. Having considered my position and realising I needed the best possible consultant, I contacted Mr Sooriakumaran via his secretary.

Although I had none of the typical prostate symptoms, Mr. Prasanna Sooriakumaran suspected a problem and immediately arranged a scan and later transperineal biopsies of the prostate. This confirmed his initial cancer concerns despite my PSA being low.
 
Mr. Sooriakumaran carried out a robotic assisted radical prostatectomy in November 2015 due to an aggressive cancer that had already spread beyond the prostate. As the cancer had spread my procedure was a non-nerve sparing operation, a small price to pay to save my life. The expertise of Mr. Sooriakumaran enabled me to return home the very next day and my PSA continues to be undetectable.

I was referred to a urological physiotherapist for exercises to illuminate incontinence, this was successful. As the nerves were removed during the procedure erections were weak; prescription help was available such as ‘Caverject’ and a variety of other drugs.

I had no hesitation in the decision to have the procedure mainly due to the confidence I had in Mr. Sooriakumaran that has been totally justified. I will never be able to thank him enough for saving my life, he is truly an exceptional man.

My life has changed since being diagnosed with prostate cancer, I now feel every day is a new experience thanks to Prasanna Sooriakumaran.

Thank you.

Business name:Santis

“If Carlsberg made surgeons Declan would be the only one for me!”

After 2 biopsies during the second half of 2016, it was confirmed on December 23rd that I had prostate cancer. Not ideal timing for Christmas, but the holiday period that followed allowed me time to research my condition and to understand the 3 options that I had been given for treatment. I met with a number of Consultants during the early weeks of January and in the end I opted for radical prostatectomy over brachytherapy mainly as I felt that this treatment would give me a better piece of mind with the prostate being removed entirely.

Once this decision was made, I met up with 2 consultants who specialised in radical prostatectomy and from the outset it was clear to both myself and my wife that Declan Cahill was the man for the job. Declan puts you at ease from the minute you meet him with his straightforward, matter-of-fact style. He explains the treatment in detail and clearly points out the positive and negative impacts of the procedure in a way that is easy to understand. On the evening before my operation, Declan called to make sure I was OK with what was to follow the next day and he also came to meet me just prior to the operation and explained once again what I should expect.

The operation was fairly straight forward and I remained at The Royal Marsden for 2 days, looked after by their wonderful staff and I even managed a quick walk across the road to the pub for a nice glass of red wine! Since the operation, Declan has been in touch on numerous occasions and he is always available for advice at any time no matter the subject.

My recovery has been rapid and painless. I was dry from day one after having the catheter removed, back at work within 3 weeks and 8 weeks after the operation I walked 126 miles on the Scottish West Highland Way – including climbing up Ben Nevis on the final day. 10 weeks after my operation, my PSA levels are now undetectable and whilst Declan wants to keep me under his care for the coming 12 months, I feel fantastic and have no regrets about the route I took for my treatment or indeed trusting such a wonderful man as Declan Cahill.

Thank you Declan for all you have done for me and my family – I will always be grateful to you and your team.

Business name:Santis

“Both before and after the operation Prof. Eden with his team of nursing and secretarial staff provided me with the best possible care.”

In 2010 at the age of 75, Professor Eden removed my prostate. Today 6 years later my PSA is unreadable. Both before and after the operation Prof. Eden with his team of nursing and secretarial staff provided me with the best possible care. I have never regretted the decision to have my prostate removed.

Business name:Santis

“I would like thank Dr Prasanna Sooriakumaran for his kindness during an extremely difficult time”

My first thought when writing this today is that I would like thank Dr Prasanna Sooriakumaran for his kindness during an extremely difficult time, he always had time for us and explained everything in ways we could understand. He was always courteous and considerate and had time for our questions, and if he was not available when my husband rang he always returned our calls at his earliest opportunity.

In May 2017 my husband was diagnosed with prostate cancer, and tests revealed this had already spread beyond his prostate into his bones and lymph nodes. We were advised he would have been considered inoperable under the usual NHS treatment. However, he was put forward for a trial, and went to see Dr Prasanna Sooriakumaran to see if Steve was a suitable candidate. From day one PS put us at ease making us feel confident that surgery was a good option. He was sure that the surgery would be successful and he started the ball rolling immediately.

On June 22 2017, Steve had his surgery, a Robotic Assisted Prostatectomy performed by PS and his team – and thankfully, this was a complete success. I waited in the family room for 5 hours while the surgery was taking place, and PS ensured I was informed as soon as it was over.

PS visited us on the ward, and explained in detail what had happened and what we should expect in the coming weeks – everything has gone to plan so far and although we know we still have fight against the cancer in his bones, we feel safer knowing the prostate has been removed.

It’s now a year on and Stephen is in a good place, his PSA is less than 1%, and on the whole he is feeling good.

Once again, thank you.

Business name:Santis

“Nothing short of excellent and comforting”

I was diagnosed with prostate cancer last October following a random blood test. MRI and biopsy showed this to be a 3/3 rated one but spread throughout the organ. This meant I had a week or two to look for what I thought was the best team in the country to help me, which I did.

I saw Mr Sooriakumaran at Santis – who does both NeuroSAFE and Retzius sparing. Following an internal exam and MRI review he recommended doing Retzius-sparing but as with another consultant surgeon, he thought the specifics did not lend themselves to NeuroSAFE as the cancer was already too close to the margins. The choice was left to me but the advice from all was very useful and all consultants were very helpful.

I was also due to see a Manchester surgeon but decided I liked the teams in London and HCA Princess Grace so selected to use them.

Anyway – to the main point – I have had my operation and follow up through your teams in London and used your Harley Street clinic for follow up. I just wanted to say the care given by the whole team from porters to nurses, support staff and theatre teams has always been nothing short of excellent and comforting. Due to some post-op issues that needed sorting (now done) I had the chance to visit several other hospitals local to me over the last 5 weeks and the difference to your facilities is incredible – mainly driven by the focus and care of your people I believe.

So a big thank you all round which I’d be very pleased if you could hand that on to the teams. I will be recommending you to friends and colleagues – but don’t take it wrong, I hope they don’t need to use you!

A big special thank you to Matta, your clinical specialist nurse!

Well done to all.

Business name:Santis

“The best advice I received was to ensure that the procedure was carried out by the most experienced surgeon I could find.”

When I learned I had prostate cancer I spent considerable time in researching the alternatives and soon realised that if I was to be cancer free I needed a radical prostatectomy. The best advice I received was to ensure that the procedure was carried out by the most experienced surgeon I could find. In the U.K. Christopher Eden was by far the urologist with the highest surgical volume – some 2000 laparoscopic radical prostatectomies. I contacted some of his peers and asked what they thought of his skills – the word “brilliant” came up more than once. I knew I would be in excellent hands. He carried out the procedure in March 2013 and I am delighted to say that my life returned to normal very rapidly and after 3 years my PSA level is undetectable. I owe a lot to Christopher Eden and commend him highly to anyone else who has been diagnosed with prostate cancer.

Business name:Santis

“Declan’s patient care is simply stunning.”

I am a London based investment banker; in early 2017, aged 59, and after 2 years of observation under my GP, Jonathan Hunt, I was sent for an MRI scan and Biopsy which revealed prostate cancer (PSA 3.9; Gleeson 3/4; T2; – whatever those mean). I was advised by my urologist, David Badenoch, to have either radiotherapy or robotic prostectomy. I elected for the operation because I figured that it gave me optionality; radiotherapy later if there is a return of the disease. Mr Badenoch recommended I see Declan Cahill (described as world class; I did a lot of research which confirms this); Declan is a compassionate intelligent man; he was an excellent judge of how to educate me and explain what it was necessary and important for me to know in a manner which played exactly to my level of intellectual and emotional acuity. He left me confident I/we knew what we were doing and that it was the right thing.

Declan and his team (including the excellent Netty Kinsella) explained in detail everything prior to the operation (to both me and my wife) and left both my wife and I extremely accurately prepared for what would happen in the operation and to follow which minimised anxiety and fear at the procedure and some of the post-operative symptoms and potential complications. Declan was unstinting of his time to ensure psychological preparedness and relaxation (e.g. calling on Sunday evening prior to the operation, chatting immediately before and after (telling me he was very satisfied) and calling my wife to reassure her, whilst I was still waking up – and then getting in touch after my journey home to make sure I had got there OK!). He also responded quickly and thoughtfully to my subsequent, probably irritating, questions.

Declan’s patient care is simply stunning; it transformed an otherwise unwelcome journey. As to the operation aftermath; well in my case it was fine; some pain (especially shoulders for about a week after), blood in urine and overall feelings of mouldiness for a few weeks. Took six weeks or so to get back to the gym and I have had a few bouts of tiredness (from the anaesthetic I think); Declan was insistent that if I tried to do too much too early I would regret it and he was right – ensuring swifter return to normal life. I didn’t have any continence problems (other than a couple of high speed staggers to the lavatory) and erectile function is work in progress; Declan was very assiduous and accurate in his preparing me on what to expect in these areas. I am sure the ease with which I recovered, physically and emotionally, is down in no small part to Declan’s skill.

I hope the disease is now gone; PSA zero at last test – which leads to my parting thought; with Declan, whatever the long term outcome I am totally confident that it will be the best which could have been achieved by anybody.

Business name:Santis
The Prostate Clinic Radical Prostatectomy Patient James Goodbourn

“I am extremely grateful for his skills and professionalism. There is no doubt that I would not be here without him.”

Professor Eden performed a Prostatectomy on me in January 2010. The pre-surgery biopsy had suggested a low grade cancer. Unfortunately the post-surgery biopsy revealed a T3 prostate tumour which had also spread to the margins of the bladder and also the seminal vesicles. The Professor recommended adjuvant radiotherapy which I completed in July 2010 under the supervision of Dr. Money-Kyrle (a specialist recommended by Professor Eden).

It is now over 6 years since surgery and also my radiotherapy and my PSA remains unrecordable. My outlook which was initially challenging is now very good indeed. As far as I am concerned, I am cured. Of particular note, I was closely supervised throughout the last 5/6 years by the Professor who always gave excellent and reassuring advice and was always there to answer my concerns and questions. Despite both the surgery and also radiotherapy, my physical functions in all areas are very reassuringly normal.

In sum, I am in debt to Professor Eden and I am extremely grateful for his skills and professionalism. There is no doubt that I would not be here without him. For those of you who have a less than ideal post surgery biopsy result, do not give up. Be reassured under Professor Eden’s care and above all stay positive.

Business name:Santis
Jackdaws Castle 11.4.10 Pic:Edward Whitaker Jonjo O'Neill and Grand National winner Don't Push It

“Radical prostatectomy was the only way for me.”

I was first diagnosed with prostate cancer in 2013 and monitoring for the following three years demonstrated the disease was advancing. I sought and consulted the highly regarded surgeon Declan Cahill who clearly explained the choices of managing and treating.

As I have experienced serious cancer very many years previously, with long spells of chemotherapy, radiation and a consequential inability to remain actively working and enjoying life, I elected to have a radical prostatectomy. I had reservations about the downside, loss of bladder control and undermining intimacy but my priority was survival and longevity in maximum health to continue to be very active in our family business and enjoy family life.

The surgery was successful, my bladder control is with good control, my prostate cancer is behind me and intimacy is adequate.

My lifestyle is busy and very often hectic, involving travelling and long hours so it was very important to me to have a choice which was minimally inconvenient with the maximum chance of a permanent cure. Radical prostatectomy was the only way for me.

It is my opinion that any man facing these choices has to balance the whole picture and no doubt age, work, lifestyle, responsibilities to oneself, one’s family and one’s business associates and clients has to be taken into account.

Thanks to Declan Cahill and his team I am able to look forward to continuing with all of these without the worry of prostate cancer haunting me.

Business name:Santis

“We feel very privileged and reassured that he received the very best treatment available”

It is 2 weeks now since my husband and I returned home after his prostatectomy and we would like to pass on our sincere appreciation to Mr Sooriakumaran for his care and expertise. We feel very privileged and reassured that he received the very best treatment available. I also very much appreciated Mr Sooriakumaran’s concern and clear explanations of the procedures and prospects and steps for the future.

My husband has continued to make excellent progress in his recovery and we are hopeful but realistic about the tests coming up.

I would also like to pass on our thanks and appreciation to Mata Kaikai. Her care and guidance were the best.

Business name:Santis

“I have been extremely impressed by Mr Prasanna Sooriakumaran and his team”

I have been extremely impressed by Mr Prasanna Sooriakumaran and his team; both the care and the service I have received has been of the highest quality. Mr Sooriakumaran himself is knowledgeable, engaging and personable, and he is supported by a friendly and efficient team at Santis and at the Princess Grace Hospital, as well as the Carebit app which is quick and easy-to-use for booking and amending appointments, receiving paperwork, and making payment. I would unhesitatingly recommend Mr Sooriakumaran to anyone looking for a consultant urologist.

Business name:Santis

“His skills, his kindness and his care have meant the world to us.”

My husband, Noel and I are eternally grateful to this wonderful man. His skills, his kindness and his care have meant the world to us. At a time in our lives when we felt vulnerable and scared, he was there for us, offered us hope and then performed a life saving operation. At the time of the surgery he had to make clinical decisions which were of paramount importance. They all proved to be correct and Noel’s PSA test results ever since have been undetectable. What can we say about this remarkable person? Thank you never seems enough. To anyone now considering treatment, go to Mr Eden. We could never recommend him highly enough. To top it all, he’s also just a truly lovely person.

Business name:Santis
The Prostate Clinic Radical Prostatectomy Patient Ashley Shepherd

“Because he saved my nerve bundle on the one side, after 12 months my erections returned.”

Christopher Eden removed my prostate in 2010 when I was 48 & my PSA is still unrecordable! I did my exercises as advised & didn’t have any incontinence and because he saved my nerve bundle on the one side, after 12 months my erections returned. When I think of the alternative options I was exploring 5 years ago, I can’t thank Professor Eden enough for his skill and manner in which he took control of the situation. Having prostate cancer changed my life and thanks to Christopher Eden I left corporate life, moved to Cornwall and I am now living the dream! Thank you.

Business name:Santis

“I consider myself fortunate to have been operated upon by such a skilled and experienced surgeon”

Dear Mr Sooriakumaran,

I’m now back in Malta and, almost a month after my prostatectomy, progressing well. In fact, I’m pleased to report virtually no incontinence at all, with erectile function slowly returning.

Thank you for having agreed to perform my robotic-assisted surgery. I consider myself fortunate to have been operated upon by such a skilled and experienced surgeon, as well as supported by a great medical team at UCLH. I also greatly appreciated Katie’s support in the week or so preceding the surgery.

On the 30th October I will be back at UCLH for the histology results.

Best wishes,

Mark La Corte

Business name:Santis
Dr Prasanna Sooriakumaran patient

“PS is an extremely skilful and diligent surgeon”

I requested a routine PSA test in November 2018 based on my age. I was in good health and had absolutely no symptoms or particular concerns of prostate cancer.
I had been tested previously and had a normal result so I was both shocked and concerned when the result was 19.1.

Follow up consultations and tests in December and January (MRI and biopsy) confirmed I had a significant prostate cancer issue, but fortunately it did appear to be confined within the prostate gland itself.

My consultant recommended 2 things:

  • Have a radical prostatectomy ASAP
  • Use Prasanna Sooriakumaran (PS) for this procedure as he is a leading prostate cancer surgeon who gets excellent results

I took his advice and met PS in January 2019. I immediately liked his character and approach – honest and direct, but friendly, caring, positive and confident in his abilities and outcomes. We worked together to get my operation scheduled for the 5th February at the Princess Grace in London, and he kept me fully informed along the way.

My wife and I met him on the morning of my operation, and immediately after the 4 hour procedure he spent time with her going through the details of what he had found and done and reassuring her with his friendly and professional style.

I was up and about the next morning and checked out 40 hours post-operation, after another consultation with PS. Once at home I continued to quickly improve with gentle exercise each day.

I met PS 8 days later to have my catheter removed and to review my histology results. These were pretty scary, but again PS was totally professional – open, honest, caring and reassuring – and I left feeling positive about my recovery and the way forward.

I am now 6 months on from my operation and back to full health and exercise. I continue to manage the challenges of incontinence, but I am nearly back to normal. In parallel ED is something I am learning to manage and have received good advice on.

I am very pleased to report that I have now had 2 post-operation PSA tests and both were “nothing detected”. This quarterly testing regime will continue for the rest of the year.

I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending PS, not only as an extremely skilful and diligent surgeon, but also for his honest and caring professionalism throughout my time with him.

Many, many thanks again to PS, the team at Santis and the staff at the Princess Grace.

Business name:Santis
The Prostate Clinic Radical Prostatectomy Patient Jeremy Spencer

“Best wishes to anyone considering asking Professor Eden for help. I can only highly recommend him to you.”

Professor Eden performed a unilateral nerve saving radical prostatectomy on me in July 2010. I had no complications and rehabilitated my functions over the next 12 months or so. Since the operation I have had undetectable PSA readings and Professor Eden discharged me this year after 5 years. I am really grateful to him for saving my life, and also to my GP for picking up the signs during an examination and referring me, as my PSA was within normal limits.

I remember meeting Professor Eden for the first time – I was very scared and he was reassuring and confident. I was extremely relieved he agreed to help me. The treatment I received was first class and all the team working for Prof. Eden are really kind and professional.

Best wishes to anyone considering asking Professor Eden for help. I can only highly recommend him to you.

Business name:Santis

“I have always counted myself extremely lucky to have found Christopher Eden.”

I have always counted myself extremely lucky to have found Christopher Eden, thanks to the help and guidance given by PCaSO. Christopher Eden is always so knowledgeable and reassuring and my operation in January 2005 was so easy for me, leaving me potent and continent. I can not speak highly enough of Christopher Eden as a surgeon. I find his commitment to his patients quite outstanding and will always count myself very lucky to have found him.

Business name:Santis
The Prostate Clinic Radical Prostatectomy Patient Vernon Burford

“An extraordinary result from a very remarkable man.”

There have been some remarkable achievements in treatments for prostate problems. In particular I personally owe my life to Professor Christopher Eden – he treated my very serious prostate cancer condition by removing the prostate whilst managing to spare the nerves on one side. He also harvested a large sample of lymph nodes, many of which were suspect. After three and a half years my PSA level remains undetectable. An extraordinary result from a very remarkable man.

Business name:Santis

“I feel extremely lucky to have been under the care of this remarkable man and I will always be thankful to him.”

I was diagnosed with T2, Gleason 7 prostate cancer in January 2014 at the age of 44. I found the myriad of information that comes in the aftermath of such a diagnosis to be confusing at times and I was naturally keen to identify my best option for life longevity. I began researching extensively and deliberating my options. I clearly wanted to make the right choice. If only I knew then, what I know now! From my initial consultation, I knew I was in truly great hands… Professor Eden and his colleagues exude exceptional skill, precision, sensibility, professionalism and empathy. The cancer had engulfed the prostate in its entirety and Professor Eden utilised his unique skill and extensive experience to conduct nerve-preserving surgery with precautionary, partial removal of the surrounding lymph nodes. Two years on, my PSA remains undetectable at a consistent < 0.03. I have been very pleasantly surprised by my erectile function post-surgery. I was worried about the effect such a radical procedure would have on this aspect of my physiology. But I’m delighted to say there was really nothing to worry about – it is excellent. I could not be more certain that I made the right choice to opt for laparoscopic prostatectomy under Chris Eden as by far the best treatment option for my case. I feel extremely lucky to have been under the care of this remarkable man and I will always be thankful to him.

Business name:Santis

“I simply cannot speak too highly of Declan.”

Almost exactly one year ago I underwent a radical prostatectomy carried out by the skilled hands of the talented Declan Cahill. Surgery followed an eight-week roller coaster ride from first diagnosis, through meeting Declan, MRI scan, bone scan, biopsy, CAT scan and then the operation itself. As I was entirely symptom free, and a mildly raised PSA was picked up on a routine annual medical, all this came as a terrible shock.

I simply cannot speak too highly of Declan. He is obviously a very skilful surgeon – a master of his craft – but he is much more than that. He was immensely reassuring, direct without being brutal, efficient without being short, clear without being patronising, amusing without being flippant, and always with time to listen to my wife and myself and offer extremely well judged accessible advice as to next steps and consequences. We debated different approaches but quickly settled on surgery as being the only sensible way forward. Of course, reaching this decision was not in haste but it was at speed – and my wife (who shares my unstinting admiration for Declan and for his execution of the surgical route he advocated) and I would never have been able to come to such a clear sighted and focussed decision with such comparative calm were it not for Declan’s stewardship of this medical experience.

The surgery itself was very successful. The aftermath was extraordinary. I don’t particularly recommend wearing a catheter as an experience to be repeated, but apart from that recovery – which a year on still continues in the continuing return of full function – was incredible. Nine weeks to the day after the operation I stood at the top of the Cho La pass in the Nepali Himalayas to which I had trekked en route to Everest.

A year on, my PSA level is undetectable. My wife and I owe Declan and his team a significant and unrepayable debt. He is a remarkable clinician, surgeon and man. You could not be in better hands. Thank you.

Business name:Santis
Malcolm Cook - Retzius-sparing radical prostatectomy patient

“When I met PS, he inspired me with such confidence that I knew he was the surgeon for me.”

If you are like my wife and I, you will have launched into a frenzy of research about prostate cancer treatment as soon as diagnosed. Two things are constant. The side effects of treatment are all similar and if choosing surgery the best outcomes are from high volume surgeons. I have been very lucky to not only have found a high volume surgeon but one that is also one of the highest volume practitioners in the relatively new Retzius-sparing technique.

Mr Sooriakumaran (PS) is an exceptional surgeon, his very low rates of complications and very high rates of early return of continence are documented and remarkable. When I met PS, he inspired me with such confidence that I knew he was the surgeon for me. PS was even happy to arrange the use of a hospital that he had not used before, as my insurance preferred that location. PS really cares about every patient and ensures that you are well informed at every stage and came to see how I was doing regularly, despite not being in one of his usual hospitals. Within 24 hours of surgery, I had taken a walk to the hospital coffee shop, climbed some stairs and been able to regain proper bowel function. I had the catheter removed at 11:00 one week after surgery and had passed the TWCT and ready to catch the train home by 14:30 with only very minor urinary leakage so practically dry immediately.

Thank you somehow seems, totally inadequate however I am sincerely grateful for PS’s care and concern during the period as the lead surgeon through my prostatectomy and subsequent complications. He is undoubtedly a highly skilled surgeon and a leader in the field, but he is also a caring and considerate person too. I was regularly amazed at how he kept in touch and tracked my progress despite his incredible schedule. Calling me in hospital just as he was at the departure gate for another international speaking commitment is just one example of his dedication to his patients.

These terrific outcomes are entirely down to the skill of PS and his expertise in the Retzius-sparing robotic surgery. I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Mr Sooriakumaran, and he has my unrestricted permission to use me as a case study.

Business name:Santis

“I was totally dry at night after 2 weeks and by day after 4 weeks”

Following my diagnosis and having been given the 3 options of active surveillance, radiotherapy or prostate removal I decided to search on the internet for the experts in this field. I soon learnt that some surgeons are at the leading edge of technology for prostatectomy procedures, whereby the collateral damage involved in removing the prostate is greatly reduced by utilising a robotic approach.

Further research led me to Mr Prasanna Sooriakumaran (PS) as one of the leading exponents of this procedure in the UK, and a well known and respected lecturer throughout the world. The internet further led me to Santis Health, which made for very impressive reading and this was underscored by my first appointment with PS. He explained what my options were and what was involved, and such was the clarity of this information that I made a decision, without hesitation, to go ahead and have a robotic radical prostatectomy.

The flow of information from Santis was comprehensive and of a helpful and practical nature on a before, during and after basis of the procedure. The follow up care from PS was excellent whilst in hospital and post-discharge and I was delighted to email to let him know that I was totally dry at night after 2 weeks and by day after 4 weeks. Given the “normal” option for this procedure, this was a fantastic result and my email ended with two sincerely meant words – thank you.

Business name:Santis

“I strongly suspect your skills as a surgeon have a great deal to do with my outcome”

Dear Mr Sooriakumaran,

A biopsy in April revealed Gleason 7 PCA in both sides of my prostate along with nerve invasion. I followed the recommendation of my consultant and made an appointment to see you. I am certainly glad that I did.

Preparing for the operation, I told colleagues at work that I expected to be off for “two to three weeks”. Online research reveals plenty of horror stories, so I approached the operation with some dread. You performed a RARP on June 7th 2018 at Guys. I experienced no problems and went back to work full time the following Monday; just 6 work days after the operation and a couple of days after the catheter came out.

Best of all, I was more or less dry from the moment the catheter was out. By four weeks after the operation I was back in boxer shorts and peeing completely as normal. I am not an athlete (albeit a normal body weight & maybe relatively young at 53) so I strongly suspect your skills as a surgeon have a great deal to do with my outcome. I am also grateful for your approachable, down to earth & frank style.

As you know my two week post op analysis reported clear margins. My 12 week post RARP PSA was at less than 0.03/ undetectable.

Kind regards,

Nick Hayward

Business name:Santis

“I cannot recommend Professor Eden, his medical team and the nursing staff highly enough.”

Professor Eden removed my prostate in August 2008, with Dr Anne Haigh his anaesthetist.

Diagnosed with prostate cancer some two/three years earlier, I had decided upon a ‘watchful waiting’ approach with regular PSA tests and periodic biopsies, the last of which, immediately before my operation, revealed a worsening in my situation.

Following discussions with my consultant and my own independent research, I concluded that a laparoscopic removal of my prostate could offer the best chance of a positive outcome in relation to healing and concerns over the post op risks of incontinence and lack of erections. It also became clear that Professor Eden was the most skilled and experienced UK surgeon to perform such an operation with an excellent record of success.

As for my experience, this can only be described as positive in every respect.

Professor Eden is clearly a very skilled surgeon, caring and insightful. He is able to immediately relax the patient with trust between surgeon and patient established from the very outset.

My stay was some four or five days in length (I cannot remember precisely). The accommodation, and the care I received from Professor Eden, his Operating Team and nursing staff was second to none. The catering was also excellent.

The operation itself was a success and healing was relatively rapid with minimal discomfort. After the operation I was handed a photo-image of the removed prostate, which showed the incidence of cancer in two separate areas. Very interesting.

From day one, following my operation, I experienced no incontinence whatsoever. Erections returned, albeit ‘ejaculation’ is dry (something that one is warned about beforehand). That apart, the feeling is the same. In summary, any compromising of ‘lifestyle’ has been minimal.

For the following five years I saw Professor Eden at least twice a year, (it might have been quarterly in the first year) to check on my well being and to review regular PSA blood tests, the readings for which have consistently been considerably less than ‘1’. After five years I was discharged into the care of my GP, since which time PSA readings have remained at the aforementioned minimal levels.

In conclusion, I cannot recommend Professor Eden, his medical team and the nursing staff highly enough. This was a difficult time for me and my family. That said, I have nothing but the highest of praise for the excellent treatment that I received throughout that period. By way of thanks I make an annual donation to The Prostate Clinic charity.

Business name:Santis

“He is the consummate professional.”

Prof. Eden and his team provide the very best care available anywhere in the world – he is the consummate professional and a very nice guy to whom I owe my life – 100% top class!

Business name:Santis

“Prostate surgery is a huge decision and I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Professor Eden.”

For many men, a diagnosis of prostate cancer will lead inevitably to an exhaustive trawl of the internet for further information. Here, they will find in equal measure a bewildering amount of data, statistics and opinion, some useful, some less so and some, seemingly contradictory. Treatment options and outcomes are analysed and in the background are the two well documented unwanted potential surgical side effects of impotence and incontinence.

Diagnosed with a Gleason 3+4 tumour I went down this route and found three key pieces of information. High volume surgeons enjoy better outcomes than low volume contemporaries, Retzius-sparing surgery has superior continence after-effects and that neuroSAFE real time pathology is an innovative procedure that allows nerve sparing under certain circumstances.

These discoveries led me to Professor Eden. My wife and I arrived at the initial consultation anxious and worried but left reassured that we had made the right choice for him to undertake my RARP.

Acknowledged by both patients and peers to be one of the most technically gifted practitioners in RARP, he undertook my operation at the end of Sept 2019. I was continent immediately after the removal of the catheter and returned to pill free potency after a month. Three months after the operation my PSA was undetectable.

The testimonials on this site (which I am happy to add to) illustrate clearly the high esteem his patients rightly hold him in and his dedication to ensuring optimum surgical outcomes for each patient. He is a sympathetic and compassionate communicator – which is particularly important for partners.

Prostate surgery is a huge decision and I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Professor Eden.

Business name:Santis

“Nothing short of a medical miracle as far as I am concerned!”

Dear Mr. Sooriakumaran,

It has been a long time since I have put pen to paper to write anyone a thank you note – but think this is more than deserved!

I was diagnosed with prostate cancer at the age of 42, which is very young to be diagnosed with this. After the initial shock, spending months going through various tests and the realisation that this was very serious and needed to be dealt with I was transferred to your care.

I just wanted to say a huge heartfelt thanks from myself and my family for your care, understanding and your professionalism in dealing with me. It sounds crazy but I really enjoyed coming in to see you as I know I would not only get all the answers I needed, but you were so friendly and there was no “10-minute time limit”.

My radical prostatectomy took place just over 5 weeks ago on 21st March 2018 and the results have just been short of amazing. It was so reassuring to have a little chat with you after the operation and recovery was so much quicker than anticipated. The scars were almost gone within a month, I was leaking a lot less than I thought I would be and I am starting to get my sexual function back already after 5 weeks – nothing short of a medical miracle as far as I am concerned!

It felt like I had to put my life on hold until the operation was done, and now it is all done, it feels like I can get back to my normal self and continue with life.

The additional news of the prostate histology was also good news a few days ago, no nasty surprises there!

I wish you all the best for the future and really hope that medicine can progress to the point where this type of cancer can be identified and dealt with in an efficient manner.

Kind regards,

Shiraz Janjua

Business name:Santis

“We feel very lucky to have been directed to such a great team led by Declan.”

I went for a physical in February 2017 feeling fit and generally well. Received a call soon thereafter saying my PSA was very elevated at 29 and that I should have a retest. Same result. Events unfolded rapidly. Biopsy – confirmed prostate cancer. MRI revealed a questionable area on a bone. Followed up with a PET scan and bone scan, both of which were inconclusive and subject to interpretation. Decision time: radiation/chemo/surgery? I felt like a deer caught in head lights. Scared, world turned upside down and looking for clarity and direction.

Enter Declan Cahill. We immediately connected with Declan. He explained in a calm, glass half full manner what was involved with a radical prostatectomy and that together we would tackle this as a team. As a side note, I am fortunate to have a father in law who was a leading research scientist in the US for some of the largest pharmaceutical companies. He did his due diligence on Declan and reported back that we were very lucky to be in the hands of Declan – someone who was renowned as one of the best radical prostatectomy surgeons. With Declan’s leadership we formed our strategy. While the scans posed some questions on the path to take, through a logical and common sense approach we moved forward with our strategy. First step was to go after the motherload (i.e. remove the prostate), then take stock of where we were, and if required, move on to other treatments.

The radical prostatectomy was performed on the 27th March 2017 at the Royal Marsden. Leading up to the surgery Declan was in constant contact to check how I was doing which provided the reinsurance that I needed. For me, it was Declan’s confidence, positivity and bed-side manner that made a real difference. We feel very lucky to have somehow been directed to such a great team led by Declan. Knowing that I was in the hands of someone with his experience and skill made me feel safe. I realised that someone like Declan is very busy and that there would be a lot of demand for his time, so it was all the more remarkable that he made the time (late in the evenings or on weekends) when he could have been spending it with his own family, to check in on me and provide updates when he knew I would be wondering about test results or simply to check on how I was recovering. Declan – you are an incredibly special man!

Results four months post surgery: 8-week post operation PSA result is 0.01 (I understand that means it is generally undetectable) with the pathology coming back as clear. Continence has been fine and continue to work on the the erection side of the equation (nerves on one side were removed). While we realise that it is still early days, I feel great and can clearly say: thank you for saving my life.

Prostate Cancer Information Centre

The Prostate Cancer Information Centre is an online resource created by experts to help you understand prostate cancer better, with articles, videos and advice published several times a week.

Visit the Prostate Cancer Information Centre

Subscribe to our newsletter to receive the latest articles direct to your inbox.