As the coronavirus pandemic eases we are able to offer rapid access to expert prostate cancer diagnostics, biopsy and robotic prostatectomy for patients whose local healthcare provision is still recovering. Please contact us for further details.

info@santishealth.org or 0203 389 5860

Choosing to undergo a radical prostatectomy is a big decision. Knowing that thousands of other men have placed their trust in the surgeons at Santis - and have been delighted with their results - helps to make that decision a little easier. We’ve collected the thoughts of some of our patients for you here.

Business name:Santis
Mr John Goodyer

“Selecting Professor Eden is genuinely the best decision I have ever made, I thoroughly recommend him.”

2020 has been a very strange year for me. I started on January 1st like any other (to my knowledge) healthy 55 year old, but within two weeks I found out I had an abnormal prostate. Within a further two weeks I had the news I was not expecting: I had prostate cancer. Research and recommendations led me to decide the Professor Eden was the way forward for me.

I first met Professor Eden on Sat 15th Feb 2020, straight from that first meeting I immediately felt I was in good hands. He took the time to go through the details, give me the facts and give me advice where I asked for it and reassured me that a high-volume surgeon was the best way to give the greatest chance of success. At that same session, Professor Eden offered me the operation 5 days later on Thursday 20th Feb. That was perfect, no time to worry, just comfort that I was being seen by someone I already felt comfortable with.

My particular circumstance was that results to date had shown that although the cancer had been shown to be localised within the prostate, it was right on the edge and there was a good chance that it might have started to spread into the immediate locality, he explained London Bridge Hospital offered the opportunity during the operation to have a frozen section which would enable him there and then to operate further if required. Nothing was pressurised, everything was always my decision. We did go through alternative locations of surgery, Guildford was more local to me, but because of the risk described, I felt London Bridge Hospital would be more appropriate. Again, Professor Eden didn’t put any pressure on me, he just kept giving me the facts and helping me make sensible risk based decisions.

On the morning of the operation I met him about 8.15am: he was such a calming influence. I went into the operation feeling positive, and 3 or so hours later I was back in my room chatting to my wife. Here I am 6 weeks post surgery, with my recovery seemingly going to plan. We met 4 weeks post operation and went through the histology outcome where, again, he was very factual and always willing to answer any questions I might have however repetitive it might have been for him.

To anyone considering whether or not to put your life in his hands, simple answer, DO IT! His calm professional, measured approach turns what could be a very unpleasant worrying time of life into something you can very easily cope with. One other thing to say, and that is the flow of information to and from Santis is first class whether that be over the phone, email or good old fashioned mail, always in plenty of time and always very professional.

Selecting Professor Eden is genuinely the best decision I have ever made: I thoroughly recommend him.

Business name:Santis

“An absolutely magnificent expert on robotic assisted surgery”

I am a practising lawyer.

Thanks to Mr Prasanna Sooriakumaran and his theatre team, six months down the line after robotic surgery at Princess Grace Hospital I am now rid of the tumour in my prostate. Being referred to such an absolutely magnificent expert on robotic assisted surgery is the best thing that happened to me following the initial cancer diagnosis. The information and guidance that he provided to me and my wife during our first meeting in London proved pivotal for the difficult decision that we had to take. It was evident that time is of the essence when such decisions have to be taken. Mr P.S. is a very kind and compassionate person. The matter-of-fact manner in which he explained to us the situation in all its complexities helped me immensely in taking the right decision to undergo robotic assisted surgery. His approach was so reassuring, down to earth and comforting during those difficult times. Naturally, for a firm believer like me, Mr P.S. is an instrument in God’s hands.

Mr P.S. proved to be the bridge that brought me back to normal life.  I left hospital after three days and was already in a position to enjoy the rest of our stay in London as a normal holiday.

The post-operative PSA result is 0.002. Mr P.S. described it as a “a great PSA result” and I couldn’t agree more. Robotic surgery is undoubtedly the most nerve-sparing and the least disruptive procedure and it allows the fastest return to normal life and work. I was pleading in court after a few weeks.  My prostate cancer is behind me. The incontinence problem was gone in exactly six weeks’ time as prognosticated by Mr P.S.

He is definitely a world leader in prostate cancer care and in robotic surgery. The outcome of his radical prostatectomy is clear evidence of his masterly method and professionalism.   

My wife and I are ever so grateful to Mr P.S. and his team, including Urology Clinical Nurse Specialist Ms. Matta Kaikai who is second to none. 

Young men should not be put off radical prostatectomy as it provides a fast return to normal life. 

Business name:Santis

“A testament to Professor Eden’s skills and experience”

I cannot recommend Professor Eden highly enough. I had a raised PSA but no prostate enlargement and while others had considered the prostate normal, Professor Eden picked up subtle changes confirmed by MP-MRI. The diagnostic and treatment plan was fast and efficient and Professor Eden provided detailed information at each step.

The robotic assisted nerve sparing prostatectomy was a testament to Professor Eden’s skills and experience. My immediate post-operative recovery has been smooth and uneventful. My sincere thanks to Professor Eden and his whole team for their kindness and professionalism.

Business name:Santis

“Both before and after the operation Prof. Eden with his team of nursing and secretarial staff provided me with the best possible care.”

In 2010 at the age of 75, Professor Eden removed my prostate. Today 6 years later my PSA is unreadable. Both before and after the operation Prof. Eden with his team of nursing and secretarial staff provided me with the best possible care. I have never regretted the decision to have my prostate removed.

Business name:Santis
Mr Neil Bingham

“I would thoroughly recommend you and your team without any reservations”

Dear PS,

I would like to extend my heartfelt thanks to you and your outstanding team for the way in which you have dealt with my prostate issues.

Every stage of the process has been professional, courteous, and perhaps most key – caring.

From the first phone call to Simone, through to having the catheter removed this week, every stage of the process has been of the highest possible standard and speed.

I find it very hard to put in words just how well you and your team (a special call out to Matta too) have looked after me, and importantly put mine and my wife’s minds at ease.

I would thoroughly recommend you and your team without any reservations.

With my heartfelt thanks,

Neil Bingham

Business name:Santis

“The care that I received throughout the process has been second to none”

When my Consultant told me the result of my biopsies – a rare cancer which had aggressive characteristics and did not respond readily to radiotherapy – he referred me to Professor Eden to consider a robotic-assisted radical prostatectomy. Little did I imagine that, within 2 days on a Saturday afternoon just before Christmas, my wife and I would be discussing details with him face-to-face! Just 5 weeks later, with Christmas, a F-PSMA PET/CT scan and a week’s skiing intervening, the operation took place. I was discharged in 2 days and, some 3 months after the operation, its success was confirmed by a PSA reading of 0.1.

The care that I received throughout the process has been second to none. Professor Eden, with his calm and reassuring manner, inspired total confidence at a difficult time. He and his Secretary Simone both responded to emails seemingly within an hour or so. Professor Eden’s online advice was also incredibly helpful, both to me and to my supportive family. The entire process was complemented by gentle, caring and excellent nursing support. 

My wife and I are immensely grateful to Professor Eden and his superb Team for shepherding us through a complex process so skilfully and confidently. 

Business name:Santis

“I consider myself fortunate to have been operated upon by such a skilled and experienced surgeon”

Dear Mr Sooriakumaran,

I’m now back in Malta and, almost a month after my prostatectomy, progressing well. In fact, I’m pleased to report virtually no incontinence at all, with erectile function slowly returning.

Thank you for having agreed to perform my robotic-assisted surgery. I consider myself fortunate to have been operated upon by such a skilled and experienced surgeon, as well as supported by a great medical team at UCLH. I also greatly appreciated Katie’s support in the week or so preceding the surgery.

On the 30th October I will be back at UCLH for the histology results.

Best wishes,

Mark La Corte

Business name:Santis
Mr. Colin Ledbury, Santis prostatectomy patient

“I now feel every day is a new experience thanks to Prasanna Sooriakumaran.”

My doctor informed me it was necessary to see a Urological Consultant in 2015. Having considered my position and realising I needed the best possible consultant, I contacted Mr Sooriakumaran via his secretary.

Although I had none of the typical prostate symptoms, Mr. Prasanna Sooriakumaran suspected a problem and immediately arranged a scan and later transperineal biopsies of the prostate. This confirmed his initial cancer concerns despite my PSA being low.
 
Mr. Sooriakumaran carried out a robotic assisted radical prostatectomy in November 2015 due to an aggressive cancer that had already spread beyond the prostate. As the cancer had spread my procedure was a non-nerve sparing operation, a small price to pay to save my life. The expertise of Mr. Sooriakumaran enabled me to return home the very next day and my PSA continues to be undetectable.

I was referred to a urological physiotherapist for exercises to illuminate incontinence, this was successful. As the nerves were removed during the procedure erections were weak; prescription help was available such as ‘Caverject’ and a variety of other drugs.

I had no hesitation in the decision to have the procedure mainly due to the confidence I had in Mr. Sooriakumaran that has been totally justified. I will never be able to thank him enough for saving my life, he is truly an exceptional man.

My life has changed since being diagnosed with prostate cancer, I now feel every day is a new experience thanks to Prasanna Sooriakumaran.

Thank you.

Business name:Santis
Mr Gareth Ottey

“Professor Christopher Eden was recommended to me by my urologist to perform the operation”

Life in 2019 was full of emotional extremes – 25th wedding anniversary celebrations in Lindos, Rhodes, graduation ceremonies of my two children, a new job in the City, and blood in my semen. Oh dear…the subsequent blood tests, biopsies, MRI scans, the waiting, the unknowing, the physical pain, the morbid thoughts, crying almost daily. It was hell.

Following a final diagnosis of Gleason 3+4 adenocarcinoma, the decision of what to do was an easy one – have a prostatectomy to remove the cancer. Specifically, have it removed ‘robotically assisted’.

Professor Christopher Eden was recommended to me by my urologist to perform such an operation – a calming, reassuring man who fully explained how he and his team were going to perform the prostatectomy. The operation at Guy’s Cancer Unit in February 2020 was a success. Prostate removed, no nerve damage, so I’m potent and continent, which is fantastic. Just had my PSA blood results in April 2020 which recorded levels less than 0.05 [virtually undetectable] –  hallelujah!

Professor Eden and his team have been incredibly supportive and patient with me post-operatively too – reassuring me throughout my recovery. Thank you.

Business name:Santis
Mr Tomkins, prostatectomy patient of Professor Eden

“Professor Eden is in our opinion the best surgeon for prostatectomy”

I am 51 years of age and I first found out I had a raised PSA in December 2019.  Following further PSA tests it was then that further investigations began. To our complete shock following MRI and biopsy I was diagnosed with prostate cancer (Gleason 3-4 and T2c). This is when we began trawling the internet for information which was so overwhelmingly confusing, but eventually following thorough research we decided to have a consultation with Professor Eden at London Bridge.

Both myself and my wife felt immediately comfortable and at ease, bearing in mind that all this was happening in London just as Covid-19 was on its rampage and with the whole country on its way into lockdown which made the whole situation much more stressful! We had a consultation with more than one surgeon and then met with Professor Eden on the Friday, and then on the 25th March just 5 days after seeing him he operated on me. We knew he was the right person for me as his reassurance and professionalism coupled with his calming manner initiated a high level of faith in his abilities.

My wife was not allowed into the hospital at all either on admission, during my stay or upon leaving the hospital due to measures put in place due to the Covid-19 outbreak but the care I received was outstanding, especially when taking into account the fact that the whole of the country was in lockdown with the level of Covid-19 infection extremely high. However, at no point did I feel that my care was compromised. Professor Eden took the time to call my wife as soon as he could following my surgery so he could talk her through the operation and reassure her that all had went very well.

48 hours later I went home where recovery began, and I was completely continent post-catheter removal and potency is slowly returning and this is all down to the skill of Professor Eden saving a 100% of my nerves during the operation of which I am extremely thankful for. 10 weeks post op and having just had my first PSA test following surgery I am extremely pleased that the result was negligible at 0.008!

To summarise no one wants to find themselves in the situation I found myself in, however myself and my wife are incredibly fortunate to have found Professor Eden and cannot thank him enough for his expertise which only leads us to say that we would more than happily recommend Professor Eden should you also find yourself in this position, as we have no doubt that you would be in a very safe and skilful pair of hands! Thank you Professor Eden.

Business name:Santis

“I would like to extend my heartfelt thanks to you and your team for the fantastic and swift way that you have dealt with me”

Dear Mr Sooriakumaran,

I would like to extend my heartfelt thanks to you and your team for the fantastic and swift way that you have dealt with me.  After over two months of dealing with a local consultant via BMI, I was told I needed a biopsy. I was then informed that BMI had ceased all activity in the area, which was extremely frustrating and worrying.

I had previously experienced kidney cancer back in 2011, with all the stresses and agonising moments – thankfully I received a clean bill of health – it is awful to feel that I was back in a similar predicament.

The speed and manner of you and your team, with a special call-out to Simone, along with that of the amazing team at the Princess Grace Hospital has made me feel so much more energised – as it has to my wife and family.

I fully understand how the current unprecedented implications of the Covid-19 pandemic will affect medical practices, but I, as well as many friends and acquaintances, who are suffering in other ways, still have a need to get back to normality. Your actions have impacted so many in such a positive way and I am truly thankful.

Kind regards,

Neil Bingham

Business name:Santis

“I feel extremely lucky to have been under the care of this remarkable man and I will always be thankful to him.”

I was diagnosed with T2, Gleason 7 prostate cancer in January 2014 at the age of 44. I found the myriad of information that comes in the aftermath of such a diagnosis to be confusing at times and I was naturally keen to identify my best option for life longevity. I began researching extensively and deliberating my options. I clearly wanted to make the right choice. If only I knew then, what I know now! From my initial consultation, I knew I was in truly great hands… Professor Eden and his colleagues exude exceptional skill, precision, sensibility, professionalism and empathy. The cancer had engulfed the prostate in its entirety and Professor Eden utilised his unique skill and extensive experience to conduct nerve-preserving surgery with precautionary, partial removal of the surrounding lymph nodes. Two years on, my PSA remains undetectable at a consistent < 0.03. I have been very pleasantly surprised by my erectile function post-surgery. I was worried about the effect such a radical procedure would have on this aspect of my physiology. But I’m delighted to say there was really nothing to worry about – it is excellent. I could not be more certain that I made the right choice to opt for laparoscopic prostatectomy under Chris Eden as by far the best treatment option for my case. I feel extremely lucky to have been under the care of this remarkable man and I will always be thankful to him.

Business name:Santis
The Prostate Clinic Radical Prostatectomy Patient Vernon Burford

“An extraordinary result from a very remarkable man.”

There have been some remarkable achievements in treatments for prostate problems. In particular I personally owe my life to Professor Christopher Eden – he treated my very serious prostate cancer condition by removing the prostate whilst managing to spare the nerves on one side. He also harvested a large sample of lymph nodes, many of which were suspect. After three and a half years my PSA level remains undetectable. An extraordinary result from a very remarkable man.

Business name:Santis
Dr Prasanna Sooriakumaran patient

“PS is an extremely skilful and diligent surgeon”

I requested a routine PSA test in November 2018 based on my age. I was in good health and had absolutely no symptoms or particular concerns of prostate cancer.
I had been tested previously and had a normal result so I was both shocked and concerned when the result was 19.1.

Follow up consultations and tests in December and January (MRI and biopsy) confirmed I had a significant prostate cancer issue, but fortunately it did appear to be confined within the prostate gland itself.

My consultant recommended 2 things:

  • Have a radical prostatectomy ASAP
  • Use Prasanna Sooriakumaran (PS) for this procedure as he is a leading prostate cancer surgeon who gets excellent results

I took his advice and met PS in January 2019. I immediately liked his character and approach – honest and direct, but friendly, caring, positive and confident in his abilities and outcomes. We worked together to get my operation scheduled for the 5th February at the Princess Grace in London, and he kept me fully informed along the way.

My wife and I met him on the morning of my operation, and immediately after the 4 hour procedure he spent time with her going through the details of what he had found and done and reassuring her with his friendly and professional style.

I was up and about the next morning and checked out 40 hours post-operation, after another consultation with PS. Once at home I continued to quickly improve with gentle exercise each day.

I met PS 8 days later to have my catheter removed and to review my histology results. These were pretty scary, but again PS was totally professional – open, honest, caring and reassuring – and I left feeling positive about my recovery and the way forward.

I am now 6 months on from my operation and back to full health and exercise. I continue to manage the challenges of incontinence, but I am nearly back to normal. In parallel ED is something I am learning to manage and have received good advice on.

I am very pleased to report that I have now had 2 post-operation PSA tests and both were “nothing detected”. This quarterly testing regime will continue for the rest of the year.

I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending PS, not only as an extremely skilful and diligent surgeon, but also for his honest and caring professionalism throughout my time with him.

Many, many thanks again to PS, the team at Santis and the staff at the Princess Grace.

Business name:Santis

“He is the consummate professional.”

Prof. Eden and his team provide the very best care available anywhere in the world – he is the consummate professional and a very nice guy to whom I owe my life – 100% top class!

Business name:Santis

“I was in the best hands to get the result I was looking for”

Routine blood tests taken several years ago revealed I had an elevated PSA, following which I was put on a programme of active monitoring through regular PSA tests and MRI scans. When the PSA count reached 10 I underwent a template prostate biopsy procedure; this revealed the onset of cancer cell growth in three areas of the prostate gland with a Gleason score of 7 (3+4) and T stage of 2a to the right hand side of the prostate – not great news.

My decision to proceed with surgical removal versus the option of brachytherapy was instinctive as I viewed this as offering the prospect of a more immediate and successful outcome, even taking into account the potential side effects risks, although admittedly the prospect of diminished physical intimacy was not a welcome one. Ultimately, my priority was to recover quickly to full fitness to enable me to resume a full and active lifestyle.

And so to Professor Eden, to whom I was referred in November 2019. For me he provided the right balance of factual and no-nonsense approach I was looking for to entrust my care, added to which there was the assurance of his record of accomplishment in performing RARP procedures. I valued his frank and clear responses to my questions, which served to reassure me that I had made the right decision electing for surgical removal and that I was in the best hands to get the result I was looking for.

Through each stage of the process I felt I was fully briefed by Professor Eden, including calling me the night before my operation to tell me that the Da Vinci robot had downed tools, but with the undertaking that my procedure would be rescheduled the following day. An engineer was flown in from Germany to resolve the issue and I was prepped for the procedure first thing the next morning.

Whilst I was in recovery, Professor Eden took the time to speak my wife and reassure her that the operation went well. He subsequently talked me through the outcome of the procedure and initial findings of the section taken of the prostate. Whilst the cancer had progressed to T3a, the results of the section taken was very positive. The other good news was that only partial removal of the nerve bundle to one side was necessary.

The day following the operation I was taking walks round the ward floor, and after 2 days I was discharged and able to walk to Waterloo to catch a train home. I am indebted to Professor Eden, and equally his surgical team including the anaesthetist Dr. Anne Haigh, for the skill and dedication to resolve my condition. Professor Eden’s intervention means I can put this behind me and get on with my life. It would be remiss of me not to give equal praise to the fantastic nursing staff and the support of Professor Eden’s PA Mrs. Simone Castle.

Business name:Santis

“The best advice I received was to ensure that the procedure was carried out by the most experienced surgeon I could find.”

When I learned I had prostate cancer I spent considerable time in researching the alternatives and soon realised that if I was to be cancer free I needed a radical prostatectomy. The best advice I received was to ensure that the procedure was carried out by the most experienced surgeon I could find. In the U.K. Christopher Eden was by far the urologist with the highest surgical volume – some 2000 laparoscopic radical prostatectomies. I contacted some of his peers and asked what they thought of his skills – the word “brilliant” came up more than once. I knew I would be in excellent hands. He carried out the procedure in March 2013 and I am delighted to say that my life returned to normal very rapidly and after 3 years my PSA level is undetectable. I owe a lot to Christopher Eden and commend him highly to anyone else who has been diagnosed with prostate cancer.

Business name:Santis
The Prostate Clinic Radical Prostatectomy Patient Ashley Shepherd

“Because he saved my nerve bundle on the one side, after 12 months my erections returned.”

Christopher Eden removed my prostate in 2010 when I was 48 & my PSA is still unrecordable! I did my exercises as advised & didn’t have any incontinence and because he saved my nerve bundle on the one side, after 12 months my erections returned. When I think of the alternative options I was exploring 5 years ago, I can’t thank Professor Eden enough for his skill and manner in which he took control of the situation. Having prostate cancer changed my life and thanks to Christopher Eden I left corporate life, moved to Cornwall and I am now living the dream! Thank you.

Business name:Santis

“I strongly suspect your skills as a surgeon have a great deal to do with my outcome”

Dear Mr Sooriakumaran,

A biopsy in April revealed Gleason 7 PCA in both sides of my prostate along with nerve invasion. I followed the recommendation of my consultant and made an appointment to see you. I am certainly glad that I did.

Preparing for the operation, I told colleagues at work that I expected to be off for “two to three weeks”. Online research reveals plenty of horror stories, so I approached the operation with some dread. You performed a RARP on June 7th 2018 at Guys. I experienced no problems and went back to work full time the following Monday; just 6 work days after the operation and a couple of days after the catheter came out.

Best of all, I was more or less dry from the moment the catheter was out. By four weeks after the operation I was back in boxer shorts and peeing completely as normal. I am not an athlete (albeit a normal body weight & maybe relatively young at 53) so I strongly suspect your skills as a surgeon have a great deal to do with my outcome. I am also grateful for your approachable, down to earth & frank style.

As you know my two week post op analysis reported clear margins. My 12 week post RARP PSA was at less than 0.03/ undetectable.

Kind regards,

Nick Hayward

Business name:Santis

“I have always counted myself extremely lucky to have found Christopher Eden.”

I have always counted myself extremely lucky to have found Christopher Eden, thanks to the help and guidance given by PCaSO. Christopher Eden is always so knowledgeable and reassuring and my operation in January 2005 was so easy for me, leaving me potent and continent. I can not speak highly enough of Christopher Eden as a surgeon. I find his commitment to his patients quite outstanding and will always count myself very lucky to have found him.

Business name:Santis

“After the operation I felt I had received outstanding care from Mr PS”

Dear Professor Levi [Chief Executive, University College London Hospital],

Regarding: Mr Prasanna Sooriakumaran

I am writing to let you know and to thank Mr Sooriakumaran, known as PS, for the outstanding care I have received from him since being diagnosed with aggressive prostate cancer 2 years ago.

Two years ago I had a general health check through my work company which found my PSA was 4.2. I was subsequently referred to Oxford where I had a biopsy and was diagnosed with aggressive prostate cancer. This came as a great shock to me as I had suffered no symptoms in the months prior to my health check. Mr PS successfully performed a robotic radical prostatectomy; post operative pathology showing a pT3a prostate with a 2mm positive surgical margin. Mr PS also removed 21 of the local lymph nodes; one of which was positive.

After the operation I felt I had received outstanding care from Mr PS; building up a great trust in him. At every point of my illness I always felt he was willing to do his absolute best to ensure my prostate cancer went into complete remission. To achieve this remission he always considered all options available and had a proactive approach towards my treatment throughout. He has always listened to my ideas and concerns regarding all aspects of my care; personalising this care so we were always both positively moving forward.

I was devastated when I heard he was leaving Oxford to go to your hospital in London and my instant reaction was to ask if I could stay under his supervision. Following the excellent care and advice he has provided, over the last two years, I was more than willing to travel to London for my future appointments. This initially had to be cleared with Oxford and my local GP but much to my relief I was allowed to carry on seeing Mr PS at the University College London Hospital.

My PSA levels, since the operation 2 years ago, have been consistently low (0.01) and my family and I cannot thank Mr PS enough. I feel I have been blessed to have such a brilliant and caring surgeon.

I felt it was only right for me to let you know how highly appreciative I am.

Yours sincerely,

Johnnie Reynolds

Business name:Santis

“I am certain that the bad side or after-effects of a prostatectomy are much lower with an experienced hand”

Three months ago, my PSA shot from 6.6 to 10 in a period of one month. I decided to fly from the Middle East to Europe for better diagnosis. The results indicated that I had prostate cancer. I talked to several experts in the medical field who referred me to three very good surgeons in London. I zeroed in on Professor Eden not only because of the reviews and recommendations but because he also uses a revolutionary technique to improve post-operative continence (called Retzius-sparing) in his radical robot-assisted prostatectomies in conjunction with NeuroSAFE – a nerve sparing surgical technique.

I went through the usual consultations and all the related information to prepare me physically and mentally pre and post surgery. I was trained how to exercise my pelvic muscles, how to be prepared for erectile dysfunction even when I was told the chances of having major problems with this technique and the particular doctor were low. I was worried about having to wear diapers because there was still a small possibility I would leak.

Nothing prepared me for my result. On the first morning post operation, I felt discomfort at the tip of my penis. I uncovered myself only to find that my penis was erect and it was pushing against the catheter and thus the pain. I had just overcome the first hurdle- erectile dysfunction! My catheter was removed after two weeks. I got my instructions of how to use the diapers and was given water to test my capacity to pass urine. I was surprised to discover that I had total control of the act of urination.

It is now three weeks since Professor Chris Eden performed my radical prostatectomy. My erectile function is perfect, I did not use diapers for a day since I have full control of the urination process and my wounds have healed.

I will definitely recommend whoever has a prostate cancer problem to consult Professor Eden if you want to avoid the painful and depressing moments related to the failure to have an erection or have control over your urination process. I am certain that the bad side or after effects of a prostatectomy are much lower with an experienced hand especially when he uses the Retzius sparing robot assisted laparoscopic radical prostatectomy.

Business name:Santis

“I would like thank Dr Prasanna Sooriakumaran for his kindness during an extremely difficult time”

My first thought when writing this today is that I would like thank Dr Prasanna Sooriakumaran for his kindness during an extremely difficult time, he always had time for us and explained everything in ways we could understand. He was always courteous and considerate and had time for our questions, and if he was not available when my husband rang he always returned our calls at his earliest opportunity.

In May 2017 my husband was diagnosed with prostate cancer, and tests revealed this had already spread beyond his prostate into his bones and lymph nodes. We were advised he would have been considered inoperable under the usual NHS treatment. However, he was put forward for a trial, and went to see Dr Prasanna Sooriakumaran to see if Steve was a suitable candidate. From day one PS put us at ease making us feel confident that surgery was a good option. He was sure that the surgery would be successful and he started the ball rolling immediately.

On June 22 2017, Steve had his surgery, a Robotic Assisted Prostatectomy performed by PS and his team – and thankfully, this was a complete success. I waited in the family room for 5 hours while the surgery was taking place, and PS ensured I was informed as soon as it was over.

PS visited us on the ward, and explained in detail what had happened and what we should expect in the coming weeks – everything has gone to plan so far and although we know we still have fight against the cancer in his bones, we feel safer knowing the prostate has been removed.

It’s now a year on and Stephen is in a good place, his PSA is less than 1%, and on the whole he is feeling good.

Once again, thank you.

Business name:Santis

“My worries about physical post-operative life have melted away”

Following a routine well-man blood test, my results showed my PSA was elevated and an MRI and targeted biopsy (a New Year’s Eve I’ll never forget) followed. The result indicated a bilateral tumour, Gleason 7, 3+4. 

There is no doubt about it, the diagnosis was a shock, but it was soon followed by extensive research. In common with other prostate cancer sufferers, the concern about post-treatment life, with incontinence and impotence as long-term partners in crime, was uppermost in my mind. The statistics from online forums were disheartening with many online stories of long-term pad use and a sex life receding into the past. It is very difficult to get one’s head around, particularly when you have no symptoms, and feel fit and healthy. 

It quickly became clear that high volume surgeons conducting robotic-assisted radical prostatectomy gained the best results. With some painstaking research I came across the name and reputation of Santis Health and in particular the Retzius-sparing technique, combined with a suprapubic catheter, and the neuroSAFE real time pathology, all performed by Professor Christopher Eden. His results were impressive, and the wealth of information on the Santis Health website, including videos, and the top tips on how to get oneself into optimum physical health prior to the op were very helpful. 

A consultation was quickly arranged, and my wife and I were immediately reassured by the calm, honest and professional approach of Professor Eden and I had no hesitation in opting for surgery at the Private Care at Guys London Bridge hospital with Dr Annie Haigh as the anaesthetist.  

All nursing staff were caring and supportive in the hospital and Professor Eden immediately informed my wife following the operation that it had been a success with negative margins and full nerve-sparing possible. 

The histology confirmed the grade of the cancer and my PSA at three months was undetectable. My worries about physical post-operative life have melted away, my incontinence pads bought prior to the op were never needed! 

I feel very lucky to have found Santis Health, and I am indebted to Professor Eden. My thanks to him, his excellent secretary Simone Castle and the nursing staff at The London Bridge hospital. I have no hesitation in recommending Professor Eden and his team.

Business name:Santis
Mr. Mark Smith - Santis Radical Prostatectomy Patient

“I would have no hesitation in recommending Mr Sooriakumaran and the Santis team.”

I was rather foolish but was saved by sheer good luck. My grandfather had treatment for prostate cancer but I had never considered the possibility and only went to have a blood test at my local surgery because I was worried about my cholesterol level. A locum GP simply ticked all the boxes on the form and when the results came back my cholesterol level was fine but I had a PSA level of 5. The GP was pretty casual about it and said that there was probably nothing to worry about. He did a quick digital examination but was not able to feel anything, but fortunately he suggested a retest three months later. That came back with a level of 5.7 and at that point he told me to have an MRI scan and a biopsy.

I was so much in shock that it was only three days later that I remembered that I had a private health insurance policy paid for by my employers. To start with I thought of having my treatment locally in Gloucestershire. I had my biopsy and MRI scan in a local private hospital and when these came back positive I was eager to have a robotic radical prostatectomy as soon as possible. However, the lack of a local private hospital with the necessary equipment led me to look further afield. Very quickly I found the Santis website and within 24 hours I was booked in for an operation at the Princess Grace Hospital. I was most impressed that the surgeon, Prasanna Sooriakumaran, took the trouble to ring me in the evening to talk me through the process, and I enjoyed meeting him for a preoperative assessment where he gave me plenty of time to understand what my options were. I was delighted to learn how many of these operations he has done as the level of experience is clearly of the utmost importance to getting the best possible result.

Not having had an operation since my tonsils came out in childhood, I was moderately apprehensive. This proved to be quite unnecessary. Mr Sooriakumaran and the anaesthetist Dr Sultan, were both very reassuring and I woke up feeling a little groggy but in no pain whatsoever. Mr Sooriakumaran took the trouble to call my wife after the operation to let her know that all had gone well. I chose to spend two nights in hospital, which was not totally necessary but which gave me a chance to learn how to use the catheter and to get used to walking about. A lovely physiotherapist made sure that I was confident on my feet and encouraged me to walk up a short flight of stairs. I enjoyed a very comfortable private room and some delicious food. Before I left I took a shower in the en suite bathroom so I returned home feeling quite civilised.

For the first couple of days I stayed at home and wandered about the house, but by the end of the first week I was walking slowly around the village for half an hour at a time. Giving myself the injections of anti-coagulant was unnerving, but once I had done the first it was much easier. After a week I had a call in the late evening from Mr Sooriakumaran to let me know the marvellous news that the pathology report showed the cancer was contained in the prostate and that my chances of being totally cancer free were very good. One of the best phone conversations of my life.

I returned to the Princess Grace to have the catheter out after a fortnight and had the pleasure of meeting Mata, the specialist nurse. She laughed at the ridiculously large pads I had come with and gave me a large cup of tea. To my absolute amazement not only was I able to pee quite normally but I was also able to control my bladder with no problem at all. I had anticipated months of incontinence, but I have been able to sit through two hour theatre performances with no difficulty whatsoever and am completely dry both night and day. I still do my pelvic floor exercises to be on the safe side.

The nerves on one side of the prostate had to go due to the cancer but on the other side they were spared. Even at four weeks I am capable of a semi erection without the use of drugs and I am hopeful that in time this will improve. If I need some extra help with a few pills that really won’t be a problem.

I would have no hesitation in recommending Mr Sooriakumaran and the Santis team. The operation could not have gone any better, and the tiny scars left after four weeks show how well my body has healed. The pre-care and aftercare have been superb and have always made me feel that my well-being was at the heart of everything.

Business name:Santis

“This is an incredible achievement and I am eternally grateful to you for curing him of prostate cancer.”

Dear Prasanna,

Thank you so much for the advice and the surgery that you have given to my father, George Michael. This is an incredible achievement and I am eternally grateful to you for curing him of prostate cancer. The career path you have chosen is completely selfless and a miracle for people who need you, like my father.

Kind regards,

Paul

Business name:Santis

“His skills, his kindness and his care have meant the world to us.”

My husband, Noel and I are eternally grateful to this wonderful man. His skills, his kindness and his care have meant the world to us. At a time in our lives when we felt vulnerable and scared, he was there for us, offered us hope and then performed a life saving operation. At the time of the surgery he had to make clinical decisions which were of paramount importance. They all proved to be correct and Noel’s PSA test results ever since have been undetectable. What can we say about this remarkable person? Thank you never seems enough. To anyone now considering treatment, go to Mr Eden. We could never recommend him highly enough. To top it all, he’s also just a truly lovely person.

Business name:Santis

“Prostate surgery is a huge decision and I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Professor Eden.”

For many men, a diagnosis of prostate cancer will lead inevitably to an exhaustive trawl of the internet for further information. Here, they will find in equal measure a bewildering amount of data, statistics and opinion, some useful, some less so and some, seemingly contradictory. Treatment options and outcomes are analysed and in the background are the two well documented unwanted potential surgical side effects of impotence and incontinence.

Diagnosed with a Gleason 3+4 tumour I went down this route and found three key pieces of information. High volume surgeons enjoy better outcomes than low volume contemporaries, Retzius-sparing surgery has superior continence after-effects and that neuroSAFE real time pathology is an innovative procedure that allows nerve sparing under certain circumstances.

These discoveries led me to Professor Eden. My wife and I arrived at the initial consultation anxious and worried but left reassured that we had made the right choice for him to undertake my RARP.

Acknowledged by both patients and peers to be one of the most technically gifted practitioners in RARP, he undertook my operation at the end of Sept 2019. I was continent immediately after the removal of the catheter and returned to pill free potency after a month. Three months after the operation my PSA was undetectable.

The testimonials on this site (which I am happy to add to) illustrate clearly the high esteem his patients rightly hold him in and his dedication to ensuring optimum surgical outcomes for each patient. He is a sympathetic and compassionate communicator – which is particularly important for partners.

Prostate surgery is a huge decision and I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Professor Eden.

Business name:Santis

“Nothing short of a medical miracle as far as I am concerned!”

Dear Mr. Sooriakumaran,

It has been a long time since I have put pen to paper to write anyone a thank you note – but think this is more than deserved!

I was diagnosed with prostate cancer at the age of 42, which is very young to be diagnosed with this. After the initial shock, spending months going through various tests and the realisation that this was very serious and needed to be dealt with I was transferred to your care.

I just wanted to say a huge heartfelt thanks from myself and my family for your care, understanding and your professionalism in dealing with me. It sounds crazy but I really enjoyed coming in to see you as I know I would not only get all the answers I needed, but you were so friendly and there was no “10-minute time limit”.

My radical prostatectomy took place just over 5 weeks ago on 21st March 2018 and the results have just been short of amazing. It was so reassuring to have a little chat with you after the operation and recovery was so much quicker than anticipated. The scars were almost gone within a month, I was leaking a lot less than I thought I would be and I am starting to get my sexual function back already after 5 weeks – nothing short of a medical miracle as far as I am concerned!

It felt like I had to put my life on hold until the operation was done, and now it is all done, it feels like I can get back to my normal self and continue with life.

The additional news of the prostate histology was also good news a few days ago, no nasty surprises there!

I wish you all the best for the future and really hope that medicine can progress to the point where this type of cancer can be identified and dealt with in an efficient manner.

Kind regards,

Shiraz Janjua

Business name:Santis

“Thank you for the honest, considerate and courteous way in which you treated me”

Firstly, I would like to thank Prasanna Sooriakumaran and his theatre team for conducting my robotic-assisted radical prostatectomy in early June 2014 which resulted in a successful outcome for me and to thank him personally for the honest, considerate and courteous way in which he has treated me during the consultations.

My wife would also like to thank you for phoning her straight after the operation. She really appreciated the honest and detailed conversation which she felt answered all her questions and put her mind at rest at the end of a very difficult day for her.

Our thanks once again.

Business name:Santis

“I cannot recommend Professor Eden, his medical team and the nursing staff highly enough.”

Professor Eden removed my prostate in August 2008, with Dr Anne Haigh his anaesthetist.

Diagnosed with prostate cancer some two/three years earlier, I had decided upon a ‘watchful waiting’ approach with regular PSA tests and periodic biopsies, the last of which, immediately before my operation, revealed a worsening in my situation.

Following discussions with my consultant and my own independent research, I concluded that a laparoscopic removal of my prostate could offer the best chance of a positive outcome in relation to healing and concerns over the post op risks of incontinence and lack of erections. It also became clear that Professor Eden was the most skilled and experienced UK surgeon to perform such an operation with an excellent record of success.

As for my experience, this can only be described as positive in every respect.

Professor Eden is clearly a very skilled surgeon, caring and insightful. He is able to immediately relax the patient with trust between surgeon and patient established from the very outset.

My stay was some four or five days in length (I cannot remember precisely). The accommodation, and the care I received from Professor Eden, his Operating Team and nursing staff was second to none. The catering was also excellent.

The operation itself was a success and healing was relatively rapid with minimal discomfort. After the operation I was handed a photo-image of the removed prostate, which showed the incidence of cancer in two separate areas. Very interesting.

From day one, following my operation, I experienced no incontinence whatsoever. Erections returned, albeit ‘ejaculation’ is dry (something that one is warned about beforehand). That apart, the feeling is the same. In summary, any compromising of ‘lifestyle’ has been minimal.

For the following five years I saw Professor Eden at least twice a year, (it might have been quarterly in the first year) to check on my well being and to review regular PSA blood tests, the readings for which have consistently been considerably less than ‘1’. After five years I was discharged into the care of my GP, since which time PSA readings have remained at the aforementioned minimal levels.

In conclusion, I cannot recommend Professor Eden, his medical team and the nursing staff highly enough. This was a difficult time for me and my family. That said, I have nothing but the highest of praise for the excellent treatment that I received throughout that period. By way of thanks I make an annual donation to The Prostate Clinic charity.

Business name:Santis

“PS throughout has been extremely professional and caring”

I was diagnosed with prostate cancer in March 2017 and after a further biopsy, MRI and bone scans was recommended to have my prostate removed. After researching surgeons on the internet I arranged to meet Mr. Prasanna Sooriakumaran (PS) on 26th July 2017.

The meeting with him was hugely encouraging, given his experience and his confidence that a successful outcome to surgery could be achieved I decided to go ahead. Eight days later I underwent surgery. PS and his team were extremely supportive throughout this process and everything was explained fully to me. I returned home to recover, PS rang to give me my histology results which were very good. The catheter was removed a few weeks later and since that time I have experienced very little leakage.

PS throughout has been extremely professional and caring, his stated aim is to remove the cancer and preserve your continence and potency. I cannot recommend him highly enough and thank him for all his work.

UPDATE MAY 2019

It is now 20 months since surgery, continence has never been an issue over this period and happily potency has returned during this time allowing full intimacy after 15 months. Regular blood tests have been taken with PSA levels all less than 0.1 ug/L throughout this period.

PS has been very supportive since the operation through regular check-ups and questionnaires. His skill and professionalism has not only saved my life but also allowed me to return to normality after very serious surgery.

Once again I cannot recommend PS highly enough and I thank him for his care and attention.

Business name:Santis
robert-linda-kemp

“The organisation and support was phenomenal”

I think we always knew the day would come when I would be diagnosed with prostate cancer as my father had been many years before. He battled it for over 10 years with a variety of treatments, but it finally spread to his bones and he died in 2010. From then on I think subconsciously we followed developments, treatments, read articles, watched TV programmes, really just to keep gleaning as much information as possible. This was all supplemented in 2019 when a close friend in Wales was diagnosed and following advice from another friend he immediately contacted Professor Christopher Eden. After successful treatment his words to me were – “if it ever happens, this is the man you want.” Little did we know how quickly we would be following up on this and how valuable his words would be. After a second raised PSA test and knowing that a referral was imminent, we already had a consultation booked with Professor Eden before the GP suggested it as the next stage. I think, knowing the likely outcome, our way of dealing with the situation was to take control from the word go and progress as quickly as possible. We had already followed this route a few years early when my wife had cancer, we had survived that and would do the same now. Lots of information and a clear way forward is our way of coping.

Our first consultation with Professor Eden at the Stokes Centre, where he gave us the most likely conclusions and outlined the best options, was soon followed by an MRI scan in Guildford and a biopsy in Epsom. Coming from the Midlands I think we were probably more concerned with the logistics and transport arrangements than the procedures. At this point we were so well supported by Professor Eden’s secretary, Simone, and the Santis website where all the details of appointments, procedures, test results, appeared in record time. We always knew we could email or phone to clarify or check: the organisation and support was phenomenal. We were also recommended to look at YouTube videos that Professor Eden had produced that explained what was going to happen, how I could best prepare in terms of health and exercise and how I would feel after the operation. All the support and information together just gave us confidence in what was to come.

All the tests confirmed Professor Eden’s initial diagnosis and we continued to follow his advice that a robotic-assisted radical prostatectomy was the best solution and that the outlook was good. Also that the best location was at Guy’s Cancer Centre, part of London Bridge Hospital. This was because a frozen section could be done during the operation, meaning the correct amount of tissue was removed for a good outcome but sparing any possible nerve damage. On 22nd January, only two months from the initial diagnosis, we were checked in at HCA London Bridge at 7am and had hardly taken in the surroundings before Professor Eden appeared to explain what was about to happen and if we had any questions. By 12.30pm while I was still in recovery, he phoned my wife to tell her all had gone well. No major operation is pleasant but the nursing staff were excellent in making me as comfortable as possible, followed up with plenty of information from physios and urology nurses.

Professor Eden came to see me every morning and by day 3 I was ready to go home. Travelling back to the Midlands with a catheter turned out to be easier than we anticipated. It seemed a long week before the local District Nurse came to remove it but again, phone calls from the London Bridge Urology nurses helped reassure me. The information sheets which I came home with were incredibly useful for my wife who would use them to answer my ongoing concerns that all was as it should be by quoting them section by section until I believed them! We also watched the YouTube videos of an actual operation – after the event – truly amazing.

We were expecting to have some issues once the catheter was removed but I have had no problems whatsoever and no nerve damage. A followup appointment with Professor Eden in Basingstoke to discuss the histology pretty much confirmed everything from his initial diagnosis and that the prognosis for the future was excellent. I never really felt I had any symptoms prior to the raised PSA but looking back, I know I feel so much better now.

I cannot thank Professor Eden and his team enough for their skills and expert treatment. Also the support from Simone and my wife, Linda, who organised, supported and occasional bullied me to get through this. The changes in the way prostate cancer is being treated, the expertise that is being developed, used and passed around the country through doctors like Professor Eden and his team should give all men with a diagnosis, hope. It is treatable and beatable with the right people on your side and I only wish that my father could have had a ‘Professor Eden’ when he needed it, but I know he would have been glad that I did.

Business name:Santis

“I was totally dry at night after 2 weeks and by day after 4 weeks”

Following my diagnosis and having been given the 3 options of active surveillance, radiotherapy or prostate removal I decided to search on the internet for the experts in this field. I soon learnt that some surgeons are at the leading edge of technology for prostatectomy procedures, whereby the collateral damage involved in removing the prostate is greatly reduced by utilising a robotic approach.

Further research led me to Mr Prasanna Sooriakumaran (PS) as one of the leading exponents of this procedure in the UK, and a well known and respected lecturer throughout the world. The internet further led me to Santis Health, which made for very impressive reading and this was underscored by my first appointment with PS. He explained what my options were and what was involved, and such was the clarity of this information that I made a decision, without hesitation, to go ahead and have a robotic radical prostatectomy.

The flow of information from Santis was comprehensive and of a helpful and practical nature on a before, during and after basis of the procedure. The follow up care from PS was excellent whilst in hospital and post-discharge and I was delighted to email to let him know that I was totally dry at night after 2 weeks and by day after 4 weeks. Given the “normal” option for this procedure, this was a fantastic result and my email ended with two sincerely meant words – thank you.

Business name:Santis
Mr Rachid Noui, robotic prostatectomy patient

“I was completely confident that I was in the best hands possible”

I was diagnosed with aggressive prostate cancer just before Christmas in 2019 with a Gleason score of 9. Professor Eden performed a robotic-assisted radical prostatectomy in January 2020. Being a rugby player I have had numerous injuries over the years that have required surgery and I can honestly say that my experience of the care I have received from Professor Eden has been the best I have ever had. Professor Eden was kind and took his time to answer all my questions honestly and in a straightforward manner, and when it came to the day of the surgery itself I was completely confident that I was in the best hands possible.

Upon removal of the catheter I was immediately fully continent and have recovered all nerve function and everything is well on its way to returning back to normal. Being diagnosed with cancer and then facing the prospect of such a potentially life changing surgery is a huge shock, and finding the right surgeon is crucial as you only get one chance to get it right. I would not hesitate to recommend Professor Eden for that surgery. All cancer has been removed successfully, my PSA is almost undetectable and I have made a rapid recovery. I did not have to take any painkillers and I even went skiing only 4 weeks after the operation (see photo!).

Despite my cancer diagnosis being 5 days before Christmas, and Professor Eden’s secretary being on leave and then everyone away for the festive season, in only 5 weeks they arranged an initial consultation with Professor Eden, a PET scan, an MRI of my liver and pre-assessment before my surgery date of 16 January. Professor Eden even phoned me with the results of the scans while he was away. He phoned my wife straight after the surgery, which was greatly appreciated, and even after discharge from hospital he followed up to check on me after a query I made to the hospital. Professor Eden is a world class surgeon and has a world-class team working with him, and I am extremely grateful to him.

Business name:Santis
Mr Bill Short, robotic-assisted radical prostatectomy patient

“We will always be grateful to Mr Sooriakumaran and Santis Health who took over when the NHS failed us”

I wish to thank everyone involved in my recent treatment and surgery for prostate cancer at Princess Grace Hospital in London. Following my consultation yesterday with Mr Sooriakumaran where he gave me the good news that the operation was a complete success, myself and my family are elated and feel like a ton of weight has been lifted from our shoulders.

After the death of my son-in-law from prostate cancer in 2013, my daughter prompted me to have a PSA test. This came back as normal.

As part of routine blood tests ordered by my GP in October 2018, my PSA was found to have risen a little more than might be expected from the previous one. As a precautionary measure my GP referred me to the Urology Department at Broomfield Hospital, Chelmsford. I was shocked and upset to be told following the usual diagnostic tests that I had low risk prostate cancer. Breaking the news of this to my daughter who had been left devastated with their two young daughters a few years earlier was very difficult.

After the initial shock, I was reassured when it was explained to me that it was a very different disease to that of my son-in-law, so I decided initially not to rush into any radical, potentially life-changing treatment and started on the active surveillance route. For the first year my PSA levels remained steady at between 3.31 to 4.14.

As part of the protocol after the first year I had a further MRI scan and template biopsy, and the whole family was devastated to find out that the cancer had progressed to intermediate risk. I then decided without hesitation to have a radical prostatectomy as soon as possible. It frightened us to find that my previously slow-growing disease had changed so much in just over a year.

I was referred to the surgeon at Southend Hospital and I was accepted as a candidate for robotic surgery, and given a date of May 4th 2020. I was due to attend a pre-operative assessment in March; on arriving at the hospital I received a phone call to say the appointment was cancelled due to the COVID-19 crisis. Later in the day I received a call from the surgeon who informed me the NHS had cancelled all operations indefinitely that they considered ‘non-emergency’, and he had no idea when they would resume.

I was offered hormone treatment as an interim measure. Having seen the effects of this on my son-in-law and knowing my mental condition at the time, I couldn’t face having this therapy. As a result of this, we researched on the internet to find an alternative and found much of the private sector had been taken over by the NHS. We contacted Santis Health who informed us that Mr Sooriakumaran was still performing this operation. We arranged a consultation the following day, and Mr Sooriakumaran accepted me as a patient.

Thankfully the operation was a success, and our whole family are so relieved that we caught the disease in time. We feel that the NHS should review their policy to cancel these type of operations and treatments, as it not only impacts people’s physical health but also their mental health.

We will always be grateful to Mr Sooriakumaran and Santis Health who took over when the NHS failed us.

Business name:Santis

“We feel very privileged and reassured that he received the very best treatment available”

It is 2 weeks now since my husband and I returned home after his prostatectomy and we would like to pass on our sincere appreciation to Mr Sooriakumaran for his care and expertise. We feel very privileged and reassured that he received the very best treatment available. I also very much appreciated Mr Sooriakumaran’s concern and clear explanations of the procedures and prospects and steps for the future.

My husband has continued to make excellent progress in his recovery and we are hopeful but realistic about the tests coming up.

I would also like to pass on our thanks and appreciation to Mata Kaikai. Her care and guidance were the best.

Business name:Santis

“I have been extremely impressed by Mr Prasanna Sooriakumaran and his team”

I have been extremely impressed by Mr Prasanna Sooriakumaran and his team; both the care and the service I have received has been of the highest quality. Mr Sooriakumaran himself is knowledgeable, engaging and personable, and he is supported by a friendly and efficient team at Santis and at the Princess Grace Hospital, as well as the Carebit app which is quick and easy-to-use for booking and amending appointments, receiving paperwork, and making payment. I would unhesitatingly recommend Mr Sooriakumaran to anyone looking for a consultant urologist.

Business name:Santis
The Prostate Clinic Radical Prostatectomy Patient James Goodbourn

“I am extremely grateful for his skills and professionalism. There is no doubt that I would not be here without him.”

Professor Eden performed a Prostatectomy on me in January 2010. The pre-surgery biopsy had suggested a low grade cancer. Unfortunately the post-surgery biopsy revealed a T3 prostate tumour which had also spread to the margins of the bladder and also the seminal vesicles. The Professor recommended adjuvant radiotherapy which I completed in July 2010 under the supervision of Dr. Money-Kyrle (a specialist recommended by Professor Eden).

It is now over 6 years since surgery and also my radiotherapy and my PSA remains unrecordable. My outlook which was initially challenging is now very good indeed. As far as I am concerned, I am cured. Of particular note, I was closely supervised throughout the last 5/6 years by the Professor who always gave excellent and reassuring advice and was always there to answer my concerns and questions. Despite both the surgery and also radiotherapy, my physical functions in all areas are very reassuringly normal.

In sum, I am in debt to Professor Eden and I am extremely grateful for his skills and professionalism. There is no doubt that I would not be here without him. For those of you who have a less than ideal post surgery biopsy result, do not give up. Be reassured under Professor Eden’s care and above all stay positive.

Business name:Santis

“Thanks to you and your team I have the all clear”

Dear Prasanna,

It is 5 months since my RP and I am dry, climbed Mount Snowdon in August and feel great.

So thanks to you and your team I have the all clear!

Many thanks and best wishes,

John Beardwood

Business name:Santis

“A big thank you to you and your team for the excellent work”

Dear Mr Sooriakumaran,

A big thank you to you and your team for the excellent work while performing robotic prostate surgery following my prostate cancer diagnosis. Your hands are skilled as my incisions are small and my pain has been minimal while I’m recovering.

I am grateful for the surgery you did to remove my prostate. I feel so much better now knowing that it is out. Although I do not yet know the result of the tests done on it after it was removed, but thank you for taking it on.

I was very nervous about having surgery for prostatectomy. Thank you for describing what would happen before, during and after the surgery. The information provided by you and your team helped me to move forward with the surgery. I am feeling much better now and am thankful that there were not any complications during the surgery.

I will be highly recommending you to everyone I know with this condition and I will be complementing on your skills and professionalism at your place of work too.

With very best regards,

William Baker

Business name:Santis
The Prostate Clinic Radical Prostatectomy Patient Jeremy Spencer

“Best wishes to anyone considering asking Professor Eden for help. I can only highly recommend him to you.”

Professor Eden performed a unilateral nerve saving radical prostatectomy on me in July 2010. I had no complications and rehabilitated my functions over the next 12 months or so. Since the operation I have had undetectable PSA readings and Professor Eden discharged me this year after 5 years. I am really grateful to him for saving my life, and also to my GP for picking up the signs during an examination and referring me, as my PSA was within normal limits.

I remember meeting Professor Eden for the first time – I was very scared and he was reassuring and confident. I was extremely relieved he agreed to help me. The treatment I received was first class and all the team working for Prof. Eden are really kind and professional.

Best wishes to anyone considering asking Professor Eden for help. I can only highly recommend him to you.

Business name:Santis

“From the first consultation with Professor Eden my wife and I felt reassured by his calm, positive and highly knowledgeable demeanour”

I am 47 years old and underwent a nerve sparing robotic-assisted radical prostatectomy five weeks ago in March 2020. A cancer diagnosis is undoubtedly one of the most stressful occurrences in life, and I felt the optimum chance of a positive outcome was to find the best surgeon to perform the operation at the best hospital. This led me to Professor Eden and the Private Care at Guys Cancer Centre.

From the first consultation with Professor Eden my wife and I felt reassured by his calm, positive and highly knowledgeable demeanour. I have nothing but respect for the level of skill required in performing the operation which has left me with minimal discomfort, minimal scarring and continent from day one post-removal of the catheter. Within weeks my exercise tolerance is also excellent.

The contact maintained by Professor Eden immediately post-surgery and in the weeks thereafter has also been invaluable in terms of aiding recovery and providing reassurance re the outcome of the operation.

I would recommend Professor Eden without hesitation and would also recommend the Private Care at Guys where the facilities and staff are second to none.

Business name:Santis
Malcolm Cook - Retzius-sparing radical prostatectomy patient

“When I met PS, he inspired me with such confidence that I knew he was the surgeon for me.”

If you are like my wife and I, you will have launched into a frenzy of research about prostate cancer treatment as soon as diagnosed. Two things are constant. The side effects of treatment are all similar and if choosing surgery the best outcomes are from high volume surgeons. I have been very lucky to not only have found a high volume surgeon but one that is also one of the highest volume practitioners in the relatively new Retzius-sparing technique.

Mr Sooriakumaran (PS) is an exceptional surgeon, his very low rates of complications and very high rates of early return of continence are documented and remarkable. When I met PS, he inspired me with such confidence that I knew he was the surgeon for me. PS was even happy to arrange the use of a hospital that he had not used before, as my insurance preferred that location. PS really cares about every patient and ensures that you are well informed at every stage and came to see how I was doing regularly, despite not being in one of his usual hospitals. Within 24 hours of surgery, I had taken a walk to the hospital coffee shop, climbed some stairs and been able to regain proper bowel function. I had the catheter removed at 11:00 one week after surgery and had passed the TWCT and ready to catch the train home by 14:30 with only very minor urinary leakage so practically dry immediately.

Thank you somehow seems, totally inadequate however I am sincerely grateful for PS’s care and concern during the period as the lead surgeon through my prostatectomy and subsequent complications. He is undoubtedly a highly skilled surgeon and a leader in the field, but he is also a caring and considerate person too. I was regularly amazed at how he kept in touch and tracked my progress despite his incredible schedule. Calling me in hospital just as he was at the departure gate for another international speaking commitment is just one example of his dedication to his patients.

These terrific outcomes are entirely down to the skill of PS and his expertise in the Retzius-sparing robotic surgery. I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Mr Sooriakumaran, and he has my unrestricted permission to use me as a case study.

Business name:Santis

“From day one PS put us at ease, making us feel confident that surgery was a good option.”

My first thought when writing this today is that I would like thank Dr Prasanna Sooriakumaran for his kindness during an extremely difficult time, he always had time for us and explained everything in ways we could understand. He was always courteous and considerate and had time for our questions, and if he was not available when my husband rang he always returned our calls at his earliest opportunity.

In May this year my husband Stephen was diagnosed with prostate cancer, and tests revealed this had already spread beyond his prostate, into his bones and lymph nodes. We were advised he would have been considered inoperable under the usual NHS treatment. However, he was put forward for a trial, and went to see Dr Prasanna Sooriakumaran to see if Steve was a suitable candidate. From day one PS put us at ease making us feel confident that surgery was a good option. He was sure that the surgery would be successful and he started the ball rolling immediately.

On June 22 2017, Steve had his surgery, a Robotic Assisted Prostatectomy performed by PS and his team – and thankfully, this was a complete success. I waited in the family room for 5 hours while the surgery was taking place, and PS ensured I was informed as soon as it was over.

PS visited us on the ward, and explained in detail what had happened and what we should expect in the coming weeks – everything has gone to plan so far and although we know we still have fight against the cancer in his bones, we feel safer knowing the prostate has been removed.

Once again, thank you.

Business name:Santis

“Nothing short of excellent and comforting”

I was diagnosed with prostate cancer last October following a random blood test. MRI and biopsy showed this to be a 3/3 rated one but spread throughout the organ. This meant I had a week or two to look for what I thought was the best team in the country to help me, which I did.

I saw Mr Sooriakumaran at Santis – who does both NeuroSAFE and Retzius sparing. Following an internal exam and MRI review he recommended doing Retzius-sparing but as with another consultant surgeon, he thought the specifics did not lend themselves to NeuroSAFE as the cancer was already too close to the margins. The choice was left to me but the advice from all was very useful and all consultants were very helpful.

I was also due to see a Manchester surgeon but decided I liked the teams in London and HCA Princess Grace so selected to use them.

Anyway – to the main point – I have had my operation and follow up through your teams in London and used your Harley Street clinic for follow up. I just wanted to say the care given by the whole team from porters to nurses, support staff and theatre teams has always been nothing short of excellent and comforting. Due to some post-op issues that needed sorting (now done) I had the chance to visit several other hospitals local to me over the last 5 weeks and the difference to your facilities is incredible – mainly driven by the focus and care of your people I believe.

So a big thank you all round which I’d be very pleased if you could hand that on to the teams. I will be recommending you to friends and colleagues – but don’t take it wrong, I hope they don’t need to use you!

A big special thank you to Matta, your clinical specialist nurse!

Well done to all.

Business name:Santis

“A testament to the skill of a brilliant surgeon”

I’m sure I’m not alone in having spent weeks trawling the internet in order to find the right solution to my prostate cancer issue, and like many I tried to find alternatives to having my prostate removed. After various tests, scans and discussions with a number of extremely clever people I had to conclude that in my case there was no alternative to a radical prostatectomy and after more hours of scanning the net I was fortunate to stumble upon the idea of utilising the Retzius-sparing robotic technique. A few more hours of searching led me to conclude that Professor Christopher Eden was the man I felt would be most likely to give me the best result I could hope for.

Throughout the whole process, I found the Professor and his support team to be candid and at the same time reassuring, always available to answer questions and give advice. I had feared that living in Devon might prove difficult from a support point of view but again the Professor and the hospital team were always available when needed.

On January the 15​th 2020 I had the op, and after a couple of days in the London Bridge Hospital I was on my way home. By March, my incontinence issues were dramatically improved and I’m confident they will soon be a thing of the past. The potency issue is taking a little longer to get back to where it was but that too is steadily improving – all testament to the skill of a brilliant surgeon .

I would have no hesitation at all in recommending Professor Eden to anybody unfortunate enough to have need of a radical prostatectomy.

Prostate Cancer Information Centre

The Prostate Cancer Information Centre is an online resource created by experts to help you understand prostate cancer better, with articles, videos and advice published several times a week.

Visit the Prostate Cancer Information Centre